James Steinhoff's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see James’s full profile.

Overview

  • 30 references 20 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Researcher
  • PhD Media Studies
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

A Canadian working in the USA. I don't have a couch to offer these days.

I like to hike, climb, camp, enjoy beer, whiskey and tequila, read fiction (horror and sci fi) and non-fiction (philosophy, political theory/history), and listen to music (metal, punk). I'm researching the socio/economic/political implications of the artificial intelligence (AI) industry.

I'm a low budget traveler. Except for the small fortunes I spend on food and drink.

Some friends and I recently bought a bit of rural land in Aragon, Spain. An ongoing project is to develop that.

I hope to make my way to central Asia soon.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Couchsurfing actually gives me a little hope for humans.

Interests

heavy metal, philosophy, media theory, literature, climbing, backpacking, camping, horror, science fiction, transhumanism, cheese

  • literature
  • beer
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • rock climbing
  • brutalist architecture
  • socialist modernism

Music, Movies, and Books

Thomas Ligotti. HP Lovecraft.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have an extensive knowledge of 80's action and horror movies.

I would like to learn about self-sufficiency/off-the-grid/homesteading techniques.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see James’s full profile.

My Groups