Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jose’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning German
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • PhD Student
  • I have an BA and MA in sociology, and I'm on my way to th...
  • From Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a grad student in New York, from Chile. I'm very social, in that I can find most things very interesting, so if you like what you do, I'll probably be interested in hearing about it. I love intelligent conversations and dancing, just not at the same time. I'm super open-minded, and generally interested in learning from and about people, but I also have strong opinions, and will gladly share them or discuss them. People would probably say that I'm intelligent. I would probably say that I'm very good at convincing people that I'm intelligent. Whether those are the same thing is left as an exercise to the reader.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I can't really host people right now, but I'm always willing to meet up with couchsurfing folks wither at home or while travelling. I've met some amazing people on here, and I generally love the idea of couchsurfing, so I would like to see it grow and succeed.

Interests

Apart from anything related to science and/or politics; music. I'm very good at anything related to it, except playing it. Oh, and games: playing, designing, studying games of every type. If the rules are simple but the play can be very complicated, I want to learn about it. Also: Languages. Grammar. How different cities feel. Traveling (obviously). Living in different places, or at least pretend I live in them while visiting them. I really like dancing, but a pint at the pub can be a perfect night too.

  • dancing
  • exercise
  • walking
  • pub crawls
  • politics
  • traveling
  • music
  • computer science
  • divinity
  • languages
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Blade Runner is my all-time, hands down, desert-island list, top 1 movie. Right now I'm a little obsessed with Neal Stephenson. My music tastes can be found here: last.fm/user/galoise

Teach, Learn, Share

I have been described as a walking wikipedia because of the absurd amount of useless and weird things I know. I also happen to be over-educated, so there's a couple of tricks that I actually know a lot about (Stats, Social theory, Data thingies, etc).

I am also pretty geeky, so I know a lot about computers and programming, mostly linux stuff, bash, R, Perl. I also fix things. Specially if I'm asked to.

I am good with grammar, so I can be very helpful to intermediate students of any language I speak, but have been known to confuse beginners.

I am probably interested in anything that you can teach me. Maybe not esoteric stuff (then again, I am very interested in theology :P)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Cooking skills. General repair of things, broken or not. Good conversation.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, Puerto Rico, Russian Federation, Scotland, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Chile, Mexico, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jose’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups