Jude Mackay's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jude’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 12 References 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Scots; learning German
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Freelance artist
  • I have just finished my art degree in Dundee, Scotland
  • From Caithness, in the Scottish Highlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Visit London

ABOUT ME

I recently graduated from art school in my home country of Scotland. I've always wanted to live in Europe and see more of the world there, so I moved to Berlin after Univesity.
I haven't had enough opertunities to travel yet and am really keen to experience new cultures and learn a new languages.
I am vegetarian but I will eat almost anything that doesn't have meat in it.

PHILOSOPHY

Not sure. Something Like "Live for the present but spare a thought for your liver and bank acount" I guess

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Travel mostly but I host when I can.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have been using couchsurfing for a few years now and everyone I've met through it has been really great! I have also done some hosting in my house in Dundee which was good.

Interests

I'm an artist so I spend a lot of my time drawing and painting the things around me, I try to carry a sketch-book around everywhere with me.
I've grown up in the country so I love spending time outdoors, whatever the weather, whether it's going for walks or playing tennis. The city life is something new to me that I've developed a bit of a taste for though. I enjoy most games and sports, from chess to tennis and anything in-between.

I love fairy tales and folklore. I know a lot of old Scots ballads and have studied them in detail.

  • fish
  • arts
  • books
  • folklore
  • dining
  • cooking
  • vegetarian
  • chess
  • traveling
  • painting
  • drawing
  • guitar
  • outdoor activities
  • fishing
  • sports
  • tennis
  • languages
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Paolo Nutini, Bob Dylan, Nina Simone, The Cowboy junkies, Sandy Denny, Ella Fitzgerald.

Movies: Paris, Texas, The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassas, chicago, My Summer of Love.

Books: The Hobbit, Jane Air, Sunset Song.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Saw the Paintings in the Musee d'Orsay; there is just no substitute for seeing them in the flesh!

Climbed to the top of Morven, one of the Scottish mountains, in the mist.

Stayed in Featherstone, an English castle for two weeks; the building its self was amazing, all huge rooms and beautiful wooden staircases, and it was just a hundred yards from a river full of fish.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am a pretty skilled draftsman, painter and sculpter. I'd be happy to share these skills with anyone if I've the time :)

I want to learn German, and maybe the Guitar.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am a good cook although I only eat vegetarian food. I love to draw portraits so I'd be happy to do a sketch of of the host while I'm there if they like. I like to talk about everything and anything, and to here about other cultures and places.

Countries I’ve Visited

England, France, Germany, Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Germany, Scotland

Join Couchsurfing to see Jude’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups