Logo orange

Jessica Garcia

Richmond, VA, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 10 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jessica's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 19 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • counselor
  • rehabilitation counselor
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

must drink cheap beer and save money for more travels!

ABOUT ME

favorite things to do: local metal and noise shows, bike rides and parties, hiking and yoga, potlucks and cookouts, wine and boardgames.

i enjoy sunny/warm days, especially since my main mode of transportation is my bike. a perfect day would be a bike ride with some friends, hanging out in the park, then having a cookout at my place that evening. or perhaps squeezing 7 people into a car n taking a drive into the mountains to go for a hike, checking out a local vineyard or brewery, then falling asleep early.

i have a masters degree in rehabilitation counseling and i love my job. i work with survivors of brain injury and help teach them computer skills in a comfortable social environment. every day is a new day there and i am learning so much all while making a visible difference in others' lives. now that i have a big-girl job, i tend to be pretty calm on the weekdays. weekends are definitely the best hosting nights if you're looking to hang out into the wee hours of the night!

my other job is to work the door at a club uptown called strange matter. there's a show there almost every night. i can probably hook you up with some free entry if you want to check it out, depending on how many of you there are! www.strangematterrva.com

i live with 3 super rad people who will show you a good time as well. all of our schedules are pretty different so there's a good chance that someone else might be available if i'm not.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

i mostly participate via hosting those who contact me, but i occasionally find myself surfing as well...

absolutely love meeting people from all over the world, especially those that have come through richmond multiple times or who i've seen in other cities as well. great to keep in touch and make lasting contacts.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

never had a bad one. i've hosted far more than surfed but everyone has been spectacular.

i have a special soft spot for hosting touring bands, so hit me up if you're playing in richmond and need a place to crash afterward. we can drink some beers together!

Interests

gardening; drinking with friends; metaphysics/consciousness; local music scene; reading for pleasure; bike riding; cooking yummy meals!!!; ashtanga yoga; exploring abandoned territory; hiking - especially rock scrambling!; pale ales and dry red wines; mindfulness/meditation; laying in the park and chatting; camp-outs.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

riding horses with my dad along volcanic ruins in rural mexico...

Teach, Learn, Share

if you've never shotgunned a beer before, i'll provide a can and show you how!

Countries I've Visited

Canada, Costa Rica, Croatia, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Panama, Puerto Rico, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jessica's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile