Julia Zachariasen's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Danish, English; learning Faroese, German, Norwegian, Swedish
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Nurse student
  • Nurse
  • From Denmark
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello friend to be?
I'm a social and positive woman from Denmark but who currently live in Norway, where I've been living and working for the last 10 months.

Besides working I enjoy seeing my friends, playing music bot alone, at jam sessions and in a blue-grass band I'm in with 9 other friends. I love beeing active and being open to what else comes along my way.

On a weekly basis I work at at non-profit café in the heart of Copenhagen which I'm very found of. Here I've gotten multiple friends from all over the World and am therefore used to speaking English and in general embracing many different people - both in terms of my colleges, who have all kinds of nationalities, but also our guests who are from all over the World. My other job is as a nurse at an acute department at a hospital in Copenhagen. But for now Oslo's on the menu as I've been living here the last 4 months.

I love traveling and feel like I'll never get enough of it. I've traveled quite a bit, but so far "only" traveled by myself Ireland i the Summer of 2015, but it was an amazing experience. Even though I lost half of my belongings on the journey I still thrive on my memories from last Summer. In August I'll be moving to Norway for a couple of months to work as a nurse and afterwards I'm might take at backpacking round-trip to South America and South-East Asia respectively. And then there's of course Norway, but I've been travelling with friends here most of the time.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love meeting new people and what better way to do that through CS. Furthermore not the greatest fan of hotels and hostels, so when a friend recommended me this way of staying, when traveling, I was instantly appealed by the concept.

Interests

Music in every way and shape, my friends, acquaintances and my family, breathtaking nature experiences, photography, art, traveling, meeting new people from all over the World, helping other people through nursing, charity work af the café I work at., getting to know another country's culture and lastly, making a difference in other people's lives and growing within yourself through important experiences in life.

  • arts
  • culture
  • writing
  • photography
  • beer
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • music
  • piano
  • cycling
  • backpacking
  • rock climbing
  • nursing

Music, Movies, and Books

All kind of music (except heavy rock!) - though that soul and funk has a certain appeal on me...

Movies, hmm... Shawshank Redemption, Into The Wild, Deathproof, American History X, The Untouchables etc. etc. And documentaries of different kinds.

Books: many, but at the moment "Wild Swans" by Jung Chang.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Conquered my fear of performing music on a stage in front of a crowd by living for six months at a Danish music folk highschool, where I beat this fear, became a better piano player, got more confident than ever before, had brilliant, mind-opening conversations and experiences, gained friends for life and in general so far had the best half year of my life.

Conquered (some!) of my fear of heights in a adventure park by climbing in very high trees with detatched "obstacles" on them, swinging myself in wires from one tree top to another, wearing nothing but a beltet suit and some carbines to attatch myself to the wires! My hands are getting sweaty just by the thought...

Teach, Learn, Share

"On the internet the words of a wise man count for no more than the mutterings of a fool."
- Andrew Keen

What I Can Share with Hosts

My ability to being present in the moment.. I'm a very social and outgoing person, but also know when to respect one's private life. I have great stories to tell, a desire to laugh and have fun, and from time to time drink beer (!) - if the atmosphere is right. If you play music as well why I wouldn't turn down a jam session as well.
I'd like to see myself as a person who
is positive and happy with hosts but at the same time able to embrace the ability of having deep and meaningfull conversations.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Faroe Islands, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark, Norway, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia’s full profile. It’s free!