Julia Ott's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia’s full profile.


  • 8 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Student
  • BA in European Ethnology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

- - - - I'M NOT HOSTING RIGHT NOW - - - -

Here are some random facts about me:

- I think music is the best thing in life. I love how it can make me happy in an instant and there is not really a time when I don't listen to music :)
- binge-watching 2 seasons of a tv show sounds like the perfect lazy sunday to me
- I love useless things. Like Big Mouth Billy Bass, a singing fish on my wall (his interpretation of I will survive is heartwarming)
- I have a very dry sense of humor and I love irony and sarcasm

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Meeting locals is the best way to discover new places!
When I meet someone new, I normally need time to warm up, so I see cs also as a personal challenge and development.
It's a way to travel without traveling - hosting people from all over the world and talking about their culture and experiences in life is almost as good as traveling itself (almost…). And it's a good way to broaden one's mind.


I love going to concerts and festivals, it's like a total different world for a weekend. Nothing better than listening to your favorite music with a good beer and friends around.

I like roadtrips - driving from place to place with friends, playing card games in the evening, music, seeing stars,...

I'm a bookworm, I read a lot and if a book gets me I have to read the whole night to know how it ends.
I used to draw and paint a lot, lately less, but I still enjoy good art. I'm a huge Street Art Fan. I LOVE postcards, especially the ones from pubs, clubs etc. I have a box full of them and not enough space to hang them all on my wall.

  • arts
  • books
  • street art
  • concerts
  • festivals
  • dining
  • cooking
  • beer
  • traveling
  • painting
  • drawing
  • music
  • backpacking

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies that really impressed me are The Secret Life of Walter Mitty and Me and Earl and the dying girl.

Books: I love dystopias like 1984, Blade Runner, Brave New World, Little Brother,...also everything from Carlos Ruiz Zafon, Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Borgel, Paulo Coelho, The Little Prince, Hesse, Alice in Wonderland, and many more.

Musik: No idea where to start...I love Punk, Rock and Alternative and a lot of Indie and Oldies too.
I'm always eager to discover new music, so if you're staying with me, we will definitly talk about music!

To see if you really read my profile, just add a song or film you like to your request :)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Backpacking two weeks in Finland was the best AND worst experience I've made. I never thought I could carry such a heavy backpack all the way through forrests, with rain all day, eating only toast with salted butter and "hernekeitto" (peas for making a soup, but we ate it without adding water).

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: I can teach you how to cook traditional german (or swabian) food like Kässpätzle, how to play my favorite cardgame (Binokel) or drinking game (Flunkyball) and some other random stuff, like folding an origami crane... :)

Learn: If someone could teach me how to cook the right amound of pasta or rice, that would be awesome!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Spain, Sweden

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Finland, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia’s full profile.