Not Accepting Guests

  • 88% response rate
  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 13 References 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Italian, Spanish
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Studying indigenous literature, decolonial theories and f...
  • Social sciences, anthropology
  • From Montreal, Québec, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Diversity is beautiful, let's share it!

I'm a university student and i recently finished my undergrad in anthropology. I will eventually continue as a grad student in Victoria BC, but in the meantime, i am living in my hometown Montréal and spending a lot of time volunteering in festivals, going rock climbing, and most of all: biking! Could not survive without my vintage rouge Peugeot :)

I speak 4 languages and planing on learning more. I think it allows me to experience different mindsets and worldviews by slowly connecting to the language's poetry and metaphors, reaching to the very diverse richness of its subtleties.

I especially love speaking italian, since I don't get to practice every day so I'm always willing to do it with travellers. It makes me super nostalgic of the 6 months I lived in Salerno.

If you know anything about Native literature, decolonial aesthetic, indigenous women governance, feminisms, we will definitely connect on these topics.

One word: "uncanny" ! when something seems strange, but it's familiar at the same time?

*** I never accept copy/paste requests. Read the profile, and personalize your request, thanks :)
*** by the way, Couchsurfing is not a synonymous to Tinder. :) Flirty request are ackward. Use Tinder for that !
***When do I accept request? When you talk about yourself, elaborate a bit, and explain why you are interested into Couchsurfing. I receive lots of requests everyday.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Clearly the best way to travel. Getting to know amazing people

Interests

I like:

INDIGENOUS STUDIES

WEST COAST (BC)

MUSIC FESTIVALS

BIKING

ELECTRONIC FOLK MUSIC

love and respect ♡

  • culture
  • music festivals
  • festivals
  • reading
  • traveling
  • dumpster diving
  • music
  • folk music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Bonobo, Nicolas Jaar, Patrick Watson, Jean Leloup, The Knife, folk music

Books: La Vie Devant Soi from Romain Gary and of course On the Road of Jack Kerouac

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Doing an exchange semester in Salerno, Italy. Come mi manca... sopratutto il napoletano :) e la costa amalfitana.

Living one month in Tocagon, a remote village in the highlands of Ecuador with a Quechua family. Wow, I learned how to live with a totally different conception of time... Great memories.

Going to different quebec folk shows and festivals with friends.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Bolivia, Canada, Czech Republic, Ecuador, France, Italy, Morocco, Peru, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Italy

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups