Logo orange

Julia Buczek

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 0 References
  • Fluent in English, Polish; learning German
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Full-time student, part-time Scandin...
  • BA International Relations Major
  • From Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
  • Profile 80% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To chase my wild dreams and catch them!

ABOUT ME

Hi World! I'm a 22 year old girl who lives in Vancouver, BC, Canada with my boyfriend Justin, loveable cat Billy, and a bunch of fish.

I was born and raised in Vancouver, but my roots are in Poland, and I can speak Polish near-fluently. Though I'm Canadian, I'm not much of a French speaker as it isn't as common on the west coast of Canada.

I currently attend school full-time, studying International Relations with a focus on European politics and history, as well as environmental politics and law. I'm also minoring in German language. I won't ramble on and possibly bore you about the topics I study unless you want to talk about them!

I also currently work at IKEA part-time, and have previously worked at a local modern furniture boutique with mid-century and Scandinavian furniture replicas. I have a little thing for modern furniture and can probably name furniture in your room if it's from IKEA. And as stupid as this sounds, I can also help you assemble any IKEA furniture (no joke) as it's like adult Lego for me and I fully enjoy doing it. ;D

I'm an outgoing individual who loves to explore, go out, and live in the moment. I'm someone who enjoys going out to have fun on late nights, but I also love hanging out at home and just relaxing with a movie on. I'm a fairly neutral person and very easy to get along with, and I treat everyone the way i'd like to be treated - with respect and dignity. :) I generally keep to myself but will open way up once you get to know me.

PHILOSOPHY

I am a person who takes any chance to go out and live life. Experiences are priceless, and eons more valuable than any material object or money. I will take almost any chance to get out of my home and do something, whether it's to go out for coffee, or go see live music, go for a trip, a walk, a bike ride, or even just to hang out with a friend - every moment in life counts and is a unique experience in itself. My mind is like a scrapbook, I'd like to fill it with loads of memories!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have couchsurfed a few times but I have never done it through couchsurfing.org, hence why I made a profile.

I feel as if couchsurfing is a fantastic way to meet new people from all over the world, and particularly to get a more local feeling for the place I'm couchsurfing in. I'm the type of person who definitely enjoys doing touristy activities, but I also love being shown a local's perspective of their home, seeing and doing things most tourists will most likely never see or do.

I have never been hosted yet on couchsurfing.org, but would love to have an opportunity to do so.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've only couchsurfed a few times but it was at friends' and relatives' places.

I joined couchsurfing.org to get out there and experience a new kind of couchsurfing for me - to be hosted by people I have never met before, to meet new people, to see how locals live and to see whichever area I'm visiting in a local's perspective if they're willing to show me around!

Interests

I enjoy snowboarding, skateboarding (cruising), photography, street art, drawing, wandering, travelling by any way, exploring cool little places, adventuring, language-learning, seeing the world, cooking, hiking, interior design, graphic design, listening to music, watching movies (I love many genres, but particularly foreign, action, thriller, comedy and drama), drinking coffee, and eating (I can't emphasize enough on how much I enjoy food - don't worry, I won't eat yours).

Music, Movies & Books

Movies: Run Lola Run, Trainspotting, Borat, Boogie Nights, Downfall, The Pianist, Eastern Promises, Slovenian Girl, It's All Gone Pete Tong, Hackers, Crank, In Bruges, Les Choristes, Ali G Indahouse, Bruno, Chicago, The Art of Flight, Saving Private Ryan, Dazed and Confused, Amélie, Death Proof, Planet Terror, Amelie, Detroit Rock City, Lords of Dogtown, Inglorious Basterds, The Saint, Dzie

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I haven't done too many things that can qualify as "amazing" (yet)!

As a lone 20 year old female, I've taken a non-stop Greyhound bus from Vancouver to Toronto, 4400 km of sitting in a stuffy bus with strange characters for 3 days. This was not my first time travelling across the country with a vehicle, but it was interesting meeting people and finding out about their travel plans, seeing how the demographics of travellers changed throughout the country (i.e. I was on a bus full of seniors from the interior of BC up until Banff, Alberta; the passengers throughout the Prairies seemed to be the rowdiest; and passengers throughout Ontario were seemingly quiet and reserved).

I've travelled with my parents ever since I was about a year old, mostly to Europe, across Canada, and the US.

When I was about 6 years old, my mum and I were in London, England, and we saw Princess Diana at some sort of parade/festivities that were going on. This was a few months prior to her accident.

I've taken about 8 road-trips down to California, from Vancouver. I've taken 2 road-trips across Canada, and 1 road-trip across Canada and then back home across the US.

I've gone to a couple different parties at different embassies - one memorable one being the Belarusian Embassy in Warsaw, Poland.

I've gone on trips where I had to go to both a wedding as well as a funeral (during the same trip).

I've gone on several lengthy "nature" hikes in the middle of the night during winter in different forests here in British Columbia, with nothing but sneakers, beer, and a pack of beef jerky, hoping a cougar or bear won't jump out of the bushes (I clearly made it out alive). Seeing the stars was worth it, as was the beautiful, quiet lake we stumbled upon with a huge toad habitat!

Fishing for fresh salmon in the middle of the night up in northern Vancouver Island under the stars was great as well, but the salmon weren't out like they are in the day! I think we went mostly for the stars reflecting on the water.

I've seen many "amazing" things but what I've seen doesn't even scratch the surface of what there is out there.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'd like to learn from people who are just able to get up and go see the world, accomplish their goals, and live life. I'm quite young so I've still got lots to learn!

Countries I've Visited

Canada, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile