Julia McCartney

Walnut Creek, CA, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Just graduated - catering as a temporary job
  • Mills College - Bachelor's Degree in English Lit
  • From Walnut Creek, CA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Traveling Europe - Fall 2014


Well, I'm a California (San Francisco Bay Area) native. I just recently graduated with my bachelor's degree in English lit from Mills College (an all women's liberal arts college in Oakland, CA) - which is why I'm taking the opportunity now to travel before looking for work.

Lover of the good things... music, food, beer, wine, film, the arts, and, of course, all interesting people :)

I guess you could say that I'm an aspiring videographer. I would post a link to some of my videos, but the ones accessible through the web are not necessarily representative of what I typically make or my style - but if you are also a lover of film or experimental video, I would be excited to chat!

Otherwise, I'm hoping to make the most out of my two months (September/October) in Europe. I want to see more than just the major cities and popular attractions that most tourists flock to. That's why staying with a local would be informative in that I could hopefully gain some insight into other lesser known sights/activities.

I'm a very respectful guest, and will do my best to be the least intrusive of your personal space. I'm very friendly and amiable and hope to make your experience as a host a positive one. I'm also very very genuinely interested in learning your language and about your culture - so if you have any interest in sharing that with your surfers, we would probably get along!

So just to provide my vague trip itinerary... - Amsterdam, Berlin, Paris, Spain, Italy, Prague.

I'll be in Europe September 3rd to October 29.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I've couch surfed in a few places in the United States, but never out of the country. Always been a positive experience! I've never hosted through couch surfing - but I've kind of served as a host to some of my Italian friends in the sense that they stayed with me and I showed them around my favorite parts of California. I'm very proud of where I'm from and am happy to, in the future, host anyone that has hosted me :)


Literature, Cinema, Music, Games, Travel!

Music, Movies, and Books

Music (just some favorites) --> Steely Dan, The Beatles, Radiohead, Cat Empire, Grizzly Bear, Paul Simon, The Bad Plus, Joni Mitchell, Mac Demarco, Kurt Vile, Norah Jones, Fleet Foxes, Devil Makes Three, Bruce Hornsby, Alt-J, Fiona Apple, Genesis, Punch Brothers, Portishead, Tom Waits, Wilco

I have many books and movies that I love, its just more weird to list favorites since (although I re-watch movies and re-read books) I don't repetitively make certain books or movies or even authors or directors a part of my daily life... if that makes any sense. But obviously I have many favorites that I would love to talk about.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I picture the answer to this question being like "I bungee jumped off the Moab Arch in Utah!" but really, I haven't done anything that sounds so extreme or 'amazing'. Maybe I'll have an answer to this come october!

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm happy to share my culture and my language and my own experiences. Otherwise, I don't really have some specific skill set that is relevant to couch surfing.

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia’s full profile. It’s free!