Logo orange

Julián Hidalgo

Stavanger, Rogaland, Norway

Wants to Meet Up

Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julián's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 46 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Norwegian Bokmål
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Software developer
  • No education listed
  • From Temuco, Chile
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Start a new life in Norway and learn the language. Visit all the countries in Europe!

ABOUT ME

I'm a software developer from Chile. I moved to Norway almost 2 years ago and it was been a great experience. I love to travel, and I always wanted to live abroad, no matter in which country.

I'm smart for things like programming, but stupid in situations that require common sense. I'm very absent-minded, I like to help people, I'm very sensitive and I love art in many forms. I do silly things like leaving my luggage unattended or crossing the street without looking, but 99% of the time things turn out well for me :). I'm always late, but I don't like to wait for people because I'm not used to it.

I'm a vegetarian, I've been vegan and an animal rights activist.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I joined in the middle of August, 2012, and hosted around 30 people in about one month (had guests almost every day!), and then about 30 more in the coming 3-4 months. I can say I got a lot of experience as a host in a very short time :).

I've surfed only 4 times, 3 of them visiting people I had hosted before and became friends with.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I joined CS in August, 2012, but I have already hosted more than 70 people. It has been a great experience overall, it feels like traveling without leaving your house because you meet so many new, interesting people. Some of them have become friends that (I hope) will last in time.

Interests

Photography (http://www.flickr.com/photos/julianhidalgo/), books, writing, music, guitar playing, singing, movies, drawing, painting, programming (computers), Buddhism.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

- Sleeping in a platform on a tree 40m above the ground in the Amazon.
- Well, visiting the Amazon! I spent 5 days there, from the jungle to the river.
- Sitting on the edge of the cliff in Preikestolen. I was really proud of myself because I'm afraid of heights, so I consider it personal growth: I'm getting over my fears!
- Traveling to India
- Traveling around Europe for 1 month
- Moving to Norway: finally I have the chance to live abroad

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

Chile, Norway

Join Couchsurfing to see Julián's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile