JulianaJones's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see JulianaJones’s full profile.


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Turkish
  • 48, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • Whatever pays the bills.
  • School of the world !
  • From Perth, Western Australia, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm on my way to Turkey to meet my husband. I am trying to see a bit of the world along the way. Morocco and Egypt would be great. Tips from locals on ways to save money would be very much appreciated.

Easy going, sociable, congenial, I enjoy sightseeing, learning about different cultures & lifestyles and intelligent conversation. I enjoy cooking and gardening and anything outdoors. Clean and tidy habits and most importantly I have NO FUNGAL FOOT CONDITIONS !! Ex- smoker, social drinker. I enjoy slow travel, so I can get a feel for the character of a place and mingle with the locals.
I tried to learn a bit of French during Covid lockdown but when I got to France I realised I have learned nothing.

I lived in Kalgoorlie WA for four months until November 2022 and Melbourne, Victoria for seven years prior.
I move around more than most people. You have to work but you don't have do do it all in one place.

I've had Rheumatoid Arthritis for twenty years and it is starting to really limit my mobility so I want to see the world while I still can.

Everyone dies but not everyone really lives.
Believe in yourself above all else.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm travelling so am not in a position to host however I very much hope that will change in the future. I have hosted previously in Perth, Darwin and Melbourne when I was in a position to do so. It gives me great joy to share my beautiful country with people who want to see it. You can't beat having a local to show you around.


I signed up for couchsurfing years ago but this will be the fist trip I have actually stayed with a host.


Gardening, movies, travel, reading, anything outdoors. Architecture, cats, history and cooking.

At home I spend my spare time gardening, I used to have a bonsai collection, carnivorous terrariums and an organic vegetable garden. I like to cook new recipes and get outside and go camping occasionally.

I am not vegetarian but am interested in learning about a more plant based lifestyle.

  • cooking
  • gardening
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • history
  • sightseeing

Music, Movies, and Books

I enjoy European films, art-house, drama and true stories. Anything where you can't guess the ending ten minutes into the film.

I just finished reading, 'The Power of Now' by Eckhart Tolle.

I enjoy most music from Opera to rock and House / Trance etc but Foo Fighters are a favourite of mine right now.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I grew up in the most isolated capital city in the world.
The next closest capital city is Adelaide, 2,695 km east. That's a four hour flight.

Teach, Learn, Share

I like to always learn the language basics in any country I visit. I feel it's just the polite and respectful thing to do.

I would very much like to learn local recipes.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Happy to cook or help with English practice.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, China, France, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia, Portugal, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, France, Turkey, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see JulianaJones’s full profile.