Julian Benner

Berlin, Berlin, Germany

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julian’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Student / Graduate
  • lots of studying stuff ...
  • From Frankfurt, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Berlin for my masters degree - check
Find a job - work in progress
Have another travel experience - San Francisco from 9th to 25th of October


I got in touch with couchsurfing working and traveling in Australia back in 2011 to 2013. On my way home I made a "quick" 6 weeks stop in Thailand and Vietnam before I returned back to Germany for my masters degree in Berlin.

My personal highlight was working for 6 month in the Australian outback on a cattle station far off everything you can think off... And I'm talking 2h dirt round just to pick up mail!

On this journey, wherever I lived and worked I made awesome experiences and met great people. Now I can say, all of them changed me a little bit and I think that is a good thing. Isn't that what travelling is about?

So I'm back in Berlin now, I like to meet people and listen to their stories. In my opinion that's all couchsurfing is about. Most of my time spent in Berlin I hang out with my friends, of whom most I've met through couchsurfing. I like to hang out in parks or bars. I've become a huge fan of craft beer here in Berlin, which is because I used to work in a craft beer bar in Berlin. Therefore I hope to have a beer with whoever I meet :).

My newest hobby is longboarding and for those of you who don't know, in Berlin we have an old airport that is now a huge park and so you got two perfectly flat runways to longboard on. SWEET!!!

What else is there to say about me? I love photography but unfortunately became a bit lazy using my camera, due to a lack of travelling I suppose. You can check out some of my photos on Flickr:

But I always love to take some snaps with my phone.
Here you can check out a few more pics by me:
http://instagram.com/julianbenner (Instagram)
http://www.eyeem.com/u/julianbenner (EyeEm)


sorry, don't have one to put on my profile right now

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I try to join activities here on couchsurfing in Berlin, unfortunately though, uni, work and meeting my friends makes this part a bit harder. But what I can definitly say is, that most of the bigger events I participated, weather it is in Berlin or whilst living in Australia, are mind blowing and I have a lot of respect for these Couchsurfers, that pull up the big things! ( ... in memory of some crazy nights down under.)

Unfortunately now that I am back in "real life", I realize that there is other stuff to do, than just to hang out and relax with fellow couchsurfers / travellers.


One of the more impressive experiences (among many) was the total solar eclipse and a couchsurfing gather-up at the beach north of Cairns (QLD, Australia) in Nov. 2012. We stayed awake all night, conquered the rain, warmed and dried ourselves at the bonfire and finally watched the eclipse. (check out my photo)


I suppose, apart from doing sports and meeting friends and some other hobby activities of course travelling is the one big thing that I hope I'll continue doing for the rest of my live.
In my opinion, working in the most different places give you a good opportunity to see what's really going on in the country your are the moment!

Music, Movies, and Books

I don't have a speacial taste in music, as long as it's good, I listen to it.
I'm also a big TV-Show fan... HIMYM, Entourage, Californication are some of my absolute favourites.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

> Lived and worked for half a year in the Australian Outback. Lifechanging Experience!

> Climbed the Cradle Mt. on the overland track Tasmania (didn't do the track but). Tasmania was by far the most beautiful place I've seen in Australia!

> Total Solar Eclipse in 2012.

Teach, Learn, Share

Do talk to people that have seen things you haven't.
Well, this could also be my personal philosophy, right?

What I Can Share with Hosts

the act of laughing

Countries I’ve Visited

Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Julian’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups