Julie Gabrielsen's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julie’s full profile.

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, Lithuanian, Norwegian Bokmål, Norwegian Nynorsk; learning German
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Student, Social Worker
  • Social work, Intercultural Conflict Management
  • From Vilnius, Vilnius County, Lithuania
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a social worker, originally from a small neighborhood in Vilnius, Lithuania. A tiny brutalist architectural apartment from the soviet era, sharing my bedroom with my mother and brother for 10 years, before moving to Norway (I can say I have been couch surfing all my life).

In Norway I discovered the sincere individuality of my culture and belonging, it made me see borders and peoples backgrounds from another perspective, being an immigrant myself. I deal with stress in my life through dancing and drawing and decided to become a makeup artist, where I worked in different movie sets, fashion shows, commercials, concerts and events.
Later I took upon social work, to contribute back to the society that gave me a lot of privileges, to challenge systems surrounding us, and working with people on grass-root levels.

For the moment I live in Berlin and I study my masters in intercultural conflict management. I also do different work within refugee communities, working with an organisation that sets up conflict resolution workshops. I am currently doing an internship with an art therapist with children living in a refugee shelter, and hoping to one day open my own space where I can provide expressive arts therapy. I love a conversation that challenges me and my values. I joined couch surfing to learn other peoples stories, and make connections.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I want to make friends, learn languages, find out more about culture, religious practices, and more than anything your grandma's recipies 😁

Interests

I have danced hip-hop, Lithuanian folklore, acrobatics and, ballet. Currently very interested in dancing tango and contemporary dances.
I would love to create a choreography or have you teach me or I teach you something.

I love talking about astronomy, astrology, numerology, magic, religion, cultures and myths, and everything else surrounding these topics mostly because of growing up around my grandfather who published a magazine called "Destiny"- where he would bring in witches and warlocks, yogis, gurus, cooks and nomads - people from different backgrounds of life, and interviewed them for his paper.

  • animals
  • arts
  • documentaries
  • wine
  • movies
  • music
  • biology
  • philosophy
  • psychology
  • science
  • social work
  • dance
  • sci-fi
  • paganism

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Kendrick Lamar, Saules Kliosas, Bjork, Jonwayne, Anderson Paak, Darc Mind, Beyonce, Moses Sumney, King Krule, OutKast, Felix Laband, Perfume Genius, Four Tet, Deerhunter, Mbongwana Star, Wes Montgomery, D'Angelo, Antis, Chet Baker, Chet Faker, Youth Lagoon, Ravyn Lenae, Aphex Twins, Sigur Ros, The White Stripes, The Smiths, The Black Keys, Vampire Weekend, The Kills, Ty Segall, Stromae, JCole, Mount Kimbie, James Blake, Frank Ocean, Devendra Banhart, Jay Reatard, Jimmy Lavalle, Father John Misty, Nick Drake, Rufus Wainwright.

Movies: Hot Fuzz.

Books: Life of Pi, Arklio Dominyko Meile, The Bell Jar, Harry Potter series, Hunger Games series, The Perks of Being a Wall Flower, Lolita, 1984, Kafka On The Shore, The Trial, Metamorphosis, 1Q84, If On A Winter's Night A Traveller, A Doll House, Unwomanly Face of War, Don't sleep there are snakes, Ethical Slut

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have broken into an old and abandoned medical University in Berlin. On my way I met an opera singer from Brazil, who did a small concert for us inside the lecture halls.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you traditional Lithuanian recipes. We can practice Norwegian, Lithuanian, English languages, together, I can recommend you literature specific to those countries.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share my life experiences with you while we paint. We can dance together, cook together, read tiny books for tea leaves. Sing karaoke. I am learning J. Cole lyrics in sign language.

Countries I’ve Visited

Croatia, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Montenegro, Norway, Poland, South Africa, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Lithuania, Norway

Join Couchsurfing to see Julie’s full profile.