Logo orange

Julien S. Bourrelle

Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julien S.'s full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 47 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French, Norwegian, Spanish; learning Danish, German, Swedish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Studying - Learning - Teaching - App...
  • By my mother, by the people and cult...
  • From Montréal, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Understand -> Learn -> Adapt -> Grow ... -> Generate Knowledge -> Teach -> Improve the World

ABOUT ME

I used to be a rocket scientist until I realised that I did be better off helping to save our planet before finding a new one.

Citizen of the world. I love sharing views, discover how people live in the remote corners of the world, learn new languages, new ways to tackle problems, to live in a sustainable way close to the environment, to breath clean air, to drink clear water.

Smiling, curious, perseverant; if I believe in something I will put a lot of energy into it. If you do meet me, you will find someone with loads of adventures to tell and a great ear to listen.

I like to be challenged. Challenge me.

I am from the largest French-speaking part of Canada. I grew up in Montréal and lived there until I discovered the beauty of an ever moving life! It all started with four great friends and a few quokkas in 2004. In 2005 I was living in between fjords, sheeps and the Southern Alps. After a stay in the Middle Kingdom, I have been studying on the banks of the Isar. But it is in between mountains, castles, medieval towns, tapas, cider and vultures that I became what I am today! I now live two degrees south of the Arctic circle, in a vibrant, young and exotic town.

It is inhabited by peculiar people that I learnt to like, here is a few words on how to behave with them. A talk I gave to the new international students in Trondheim.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rqQHgRbicCs

PHILOSOPHY

WHAT IS THE WORLD?

WHAT IS TIME?

WHEN DO YOU LIVE?

+ Enjoy life, challenge yourself, smile!+ Think outside the box.+ Why to live in the fifth dimension? "You can't connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. You have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. Because believing that the dots will connect down the road will give you the confidence to follow your heart, even when it leads you off the well-worn path." -Jobs 2005+ Even people who want to go to heaven don't want to die to get there! -Jobs 2005+ "Change is the essence of life; be willing to surrender who you are for what you could become"- "The one whose follows the crowd will usually get no further no further thn the crowd. The one who walks alone, is likely to find himself in places no one has never been". Albert Einstein

- "Den som venter på noe godt, venter ikke forgjeves"

- "When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down "happy". They told me I didn't understand the assignment, and I told them they didn't understand life." - John Lennon

- "A woman without a man is like a fish without a bicycle" From Anna

- "Some succeed because they are destined to, but most succeed because they are determined to." - Henry Van Dyke

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I chose to participate in this once great, open, non-for-profit project. After five years in the community, i was deeply sorry to hear that the non-profit organisation that once was CS was faithful to its american homeland and became a corporation.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I HOSTED the following people:
Germany: (with my roomate Stefan)
- Jaesun
- Élisa
- Stéphanie
- Bas

Spain:
- Becky
- Silja
- Samantha
- Julianne
- Isabelle

Norway
- Sandrine
- Minke
- Vicky and Jennifer
- Julia
- Hannah
- Angelina, Marissa and Olga
- Sandrine
- Sissy
- Noora

I couch SURFED in:
- Frankfurt (Cora)
- Ljubljana (Vladana)
- Paris (Aleksandra)
- Boston (Angelina)
- Oslo (Andrea)
- Copenhague(Henrick)
- Bordeaux (Sandrine)
- Bruxelles (Aurelie)
- Leuven (Laura)
- Maastricht (David)
- Eindhoven (Medelief)
- Utrecht (Lars)
- Oldenburg (Claudia)
- Bremen (Friederike)
- La Reunion / St-Denis (Jeanne)
- La Reunion / St-Pierre (Aurélie)
- Bruxelles (Sara & co)
- Stockholm (Helene)
- Stockholm (Rebecka)
- Paris (Solene)
- Västerås (Karin)
- Bergen (Christine)
- Zurich (Cäcilia)
- Tallinn (Anna)
- Riga (Linda)
- Copenhagen (Nora)
- Budapest (Anita)

All were great experiences!!!

Interests

My interests... I love to loose myself in the mountains, carrying my home on my shoulders. To go to distant lands and create contact with the inhabitants. I enjoy photography. I love skiing, both on the mountains and in the valleys. At the moment I am quite interested in learning Norwegian! I love our little Earth and I am spending quite a bit of time understanding how she behaves. I very much enjoy cooking, talking, spending time in local markets, grow my own vegetables, make my own bread...

I am the kind of person who likes to have a glass of wine and long conversations with a few people around a good homemade meal. Clubs are usually not my place. Bier Gartens, ‘Irish’ like pubs and tapas bars are places where I enjoy to go out when I am in cities…

Music, Movies & Books

Prosperity without growth
Our Environmental Footprint
Influence

Classical, Jazz, lindy!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Walking 1000 km in New-Zealand; reaching far remote villages in country side Sischuan; swimming with the fishes in Ningaloo Reef,paradisiac islands in Thailand, Halong Bay; winter expedition in Canada, playing with quokka, climbing mountains, crossing rivers, exploring fjords, learning Norwegian, Spanish, German (but this one I forgot), living at the arctic doorstep, geting close to understand how women communicate, non conforming to a model society imposes .... and much more come and share your experiences :)

Countries I've Visited

Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Canada, Germany, New Zealand, Norway, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Julien S.'s full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile