Julio Miranda-Alban's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 42% response rate
  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julio’s full profile.

Overview

  • 12 references 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese, Spanish; learning Italian
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2018
  • PhD Stdt in Development, Regeneration and Stem Cell Biology
  • BSc in Genetics
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENTLY HOSTING MY COUSIN

My name is Julio, I'm Peruvian, and currently live in Chicago. I'm an easy-going person that is always up for playing sports, going dancing (or any music-related stuff) and grabbing a beer with friends. I like meeting new people from around the world and, as someone who has lived in different countries, that's what I've actually done all my life. Since I moved to the US I've learned a lot about different cultures and that's why I'm interested in exploring the world.

Currently I'm a doctoral researcher at the University of Chicago - so sometimes I can be a nerd. But this will only happen if you ask me about biomedical research and stuff like that. Since I was born and raised in Peru, where science opportunities are very limited, I also participate in several outreach initiatives that aim to promote the professional development of unprivileged/URM students.

Interests

  • dancing
  • salsa dancing
  • chess
  • traveling
  • music
  • rock music
  • soccer
  • science
  • pool
  • voleyball
  • pingpong
  • scientific research
  • professional development
  • biomedical research
  • science outreach

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Learned salsa in Cuba / Visited various cities as a kid because of soccer, karate and chess competitions / Got accepted for a fully-funded PhD at a top-10 university / Got invited for a meeting between young scientists and 43 Nobel Laureates / Helped a young girl to get a research internship at Harvard.

Teach, Learn, Share

TEACH. I can teach a little bit of salsa and maybe bachata; also, Spanish and Portuguese.

SHARE. I think I have an interesting pool of life stories that I can share with you.
I love sports and am always up to play whatever. My favorite sport is soccer but I watch many other sports and enjoy having conversations about them (I'm also down for board games).
I love all kind of music activities (playing, dancing, singing, etc). I'm not good at all of them tho.
Tell me about your culture, your background, and anything you like or feel proud of. When people exchange this kind of stories, our souls feel fulfilled.

LEARN. As I love dancing so much, I'm always up to learn any kind of dancing- just show me your skills! I'm also willing to learn any sports or how to play an instrument (specially piano, plz somebody teach me). And teach me any language you know, I'd like to learn a bit of any language in the world.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Spanish and salsa lessons
We can play sports, grab a beer (or your favorite drink) and hang out a bit
Conversations about life experiences
A couch if you ever come to visit Chicago

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Colombia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Turkey, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Cuba, Peru, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Julio’s full profile.

My Groups