Julie Sampson's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 56, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Teacher
  • MA Eduaction
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I like to travel and have a nomadic way about my life. I have lived in many places in and out of the United States. I have been in some form of education for the past 30 years or so. I currently work in public schools teaching English to speakers of other languages. I love dogs and old cars (I have a 66 VW Bug that I've been restoring). I think I am a kind hearted soul and I like doing little things to make people smile. I enjoy cooking, reading, hiking, traveling, and learning. I also really like chocolate. I am sorry this is not a great description, but I will add more in the next day or so....

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I currently find myself ready to re-locate again but I am not sure where, so I am taking an exploratory trip to discover about more places. I love dogs, but am currently without one. I like meeting people from all over the world and although I have never officially "couch surfed" I have opened my home to travelers in the past and have stayed with people I have met while on the road. Once I pick a new place to settle in, I will open up my couch or spare room to "surfers" but it will not be in the Boston area....that is just where I am from.

Interests

Hiking, cooking (baking - cookies are a favorite), reading, gardening, helping others.

  • dogs
  • education
  • cooking
  • chocolate
  • baking
  • gardening
  • reading
  • traveling
  • cars
  • socializing
  • hiking
  • teaching
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

The Art of Racing in the Rain
Mystery authors like Robert Parker and Archer Mayor
Music is varied.... but Rock, Blues, Jazz, Folk, Alternative, Punk.....

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I was bit by a scorpion in Thailand, climbed a volcano in Guatemala, gave up my house, my job, and everything else to take care of my mom who was terminally ill so she could stay at home (one of the best things I have done).

Teach, Learn, Share

I love teaching, learning, and sharing..... it makes my life very nice. So I just left a teaching position and one of my student ( a little 8 yr old from DR) tells me on my last day "May the memories you have of us always live warmly in your heart." That just floored me....kids can be so amazing at times ....

What I Can Share with Hosts

Many many stories and will help with any chores around the house. I can cook, garden/yard work, walk the dog, Clean the house, do windows...... Ask and if I'm capable I will do it.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Canada, Costa Rica, England, Guatemala, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mexico, Nepal, Spain, Taiwan

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Thailand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Julie’s full profile. It’s free!