Julius DeVillo's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julius’s full profile.

Overview

  • 2 references 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Japanese, Spanish
  • 23, Male
  • Member since 2023
  • Student
  • Chemical Engineering
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm an undergraduate student majoring in Chemical Engineering. In my free time, read, write, sketch, and study Japanese language. I love learning about other cultures, especially through music. Learning new things in general is an enriching experience that I believe is a lifelong process!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm certainly not the first person on this website to say "I want to travel the world!" However, that's really what I want to do more than anything. Staying in the same place for too long is too monotonous for me.

I've had a strong interest in learning about other cultures and languages since I was young. How do everyday lives differ in other places? What's the history behind cultures and places? Most of all, what makes humans different from each other, but what remains the same?

I hope to meet people on my adventures and find a more enriching alternative to the traditional tourist experience. I'm still a college student now, but eventually, I would love to host others from around the world!

Interests

My major is Chemical Engineering, but more specifically I'm interested in molecular biology and research. I always found genetics fascinating in secondary education. At school, I'm a global ambassador for my university and also am part of our K-pop dance team where we cover different songs. Soon, I plan to start working in a research lab. My career goals are to pursue a PhD after I graduate from my bachelor's program.

I am also heavily concerned with climate change and environmental and social justice, especially issues such as as sustainability and accessibility. Related to this, I am vegan, which means I do not consume animal products. Something I really enjoy is finding vegan restaurants and cafés when I am in a new place! It often leads to memorable interactions with local businesses and engaging deeper with people from the area.

My hobbies include drawing, reading, and writing. I'm an amateur but I've enjoyed drawing since I could hold a pencil. Sometimes I play Genshin in my free time; my favorite is Diluc but I like a lot of characters.

Finally, I am ALWAYS open to making new friends to practice speaking Japanese! There are not many opportunities to practice it in the United States, but I really want to achieve fluency in the Japanese language. Eventually I want to receive the JLPT N1 certificate; right now I am about N5 level. I'd really like to study, work, and live in Japan one day, since the culture has always appealed to me the more I have learned about it.

I'm also interested in languages and cultures in general, and I love to learn. So if we have some common interests, let's be friends!

  • writing
  • human rights
  • vegan
  • reading
  • drawing
  • music
  • biology
  • language exchange

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I listen to all kinds of music (anything from classical to contemporary), and am especially into J- and K-pop. My favorite artist is Ado.

Books: I enjoy classics, as well as nonfiction. I am really interested in Japanese literature. I am a fan of Dazai Osamu, Ryunosuke Akutagawa, and Nakahara Chuuya. I also love the Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice. Soon, I want to start reading Dostoevsky's work. There is a long list of books I want to read!

Movies: I don't watch TV or movies much, usually I listen to music or watch YouTube. I really like the series Bungou Stray Dogs and Love Live!. My favorite movie is Promare.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to learn and love to teach. I used to work as a tutor for college precalculus; currently in my free time I lead an informal Japanese study group where we work through textbooks and practice speaking together. Overall, I find learning new things and helping others learn to be extremely rewarding experiences.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Cultural exchange, language exchange, vegan cooking, conversation

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Julius’s full profile.

My Groups