julius -'s Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 29% response rate
  • Last login about 10 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see julius’s full profile.

Overview

  • 22 references 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Dutch
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2018
  • Accountant
  • Accountacy
  • From Amsterdam, North Holland, Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am an expat who recently moved to Amsterdam. Very open-minded, liberated and non-traditional person. 🤣
Love to travel as i am a fan of history, geography and culture. My plan is to travel around the world and learn different cultures and understand how people live the way they do. I am very spontaneous in travelling and wants to ensure that I stayed in a city for a couple of days and live like a local to be able to try new food, experience and share stories with other people.

Usually up for sports such as badminton, volleyball and lawn tennis. During the pandemic, I was hooked with playing board games as this is the only thing we can do that time. I love to watch sports tournaments especially the Olympics.

Generally, i am a fan of life. Understanding it’s origin and end, human behaviours and emotions as well as how we think the way we do. It’s interesting to know each other’s perspectives and see how one can give way to another.

Based on the above, you’ll wonder probably I am boring but not. I like to hangout outside, drink and go to clubs so definitely a balanced person indeed.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I joined Couchsurfing to be able to meet people with diverse backgrounds and cultures. It’s about building a network all over the world. Trying to gain new experiences, learn from each other and enjoy the company whenever I travel alone. And return this favour whenever i host.

Listening to their stories and perspectives of the countries we have visited exposed me to the other side of the story. Interesting and quite challenging at the same time.

As an expat, this is one of the platforms to expand my network and plan for unexpected travels, getaways and hangouts.

Interests

  • culture
  • photography
  • movies
  • traveling
  • camping
  • sports
  • astronomy
  • geography
  • history
  • mathematics
  • road trips
  • nature
  • science fiction
  • pop culture

Music, Movies, and Books

I am pretty much an open book as long it is not boring.

Music - i like music with lyrics. I am into pop, upbeat and the rest. I value the lyrics and message as well as the melody. If it gives me goosebumps, then you better play that music.

Movies - i am into anything. From Disney to hardcore action movies as long as it does not bore and make me fall asleep. I personally love sci-fi movies and nonfiction. Recently, i am a fan of comedy movies. So it really depends on the mood. But included in my top list are Harry Potter, X-men, Interstellar and true to life movies (Hidden Figures, the Man who Knew Infinity, Gift, etc.)
Books - I don’t read that much except when i travel or just want to kill time outside under the tree. I am more into nonfiction books like autobiographies, human behaviours, personality development, etc. Really fascinated with how everything works and how different human beings are from each other.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Moved to Amsterdam by myself without knowing anyone. A brave move from an Asian lad who travelled 16 hrs to a different side of the world.

Teach, Learn, Share

Definitely what I can share are my travel experiences and what i have learned from these as well as from the people i travelled with. Reminiscing mistakes and triumphs in the past help people to shape the future (so cheesy! but true!). I would love that we learn from each other and not only a one side affair.

I can share my own culture, show you around the beautiful city of Amsterdam if applicable, and check out what the city is known for😉

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Cambodia, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Philippines, Singapore, Spain, Thailand, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Japan, Netherlands, Philippines

Join Couchsurfing to see julius’s full profile.