Cathy Su's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 85% response rate
  • Last login 19 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Cathy’s full profile.

Overview

  • 32 references 24 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, English, Taiwanese; learning French, German, Italian, Swedish
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Teacher of English and Mandarin
  • MSc in Applied Linguistics, University of Oxford
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi! I am Cathy from from Taiwan :) (ps it’s a country, not a part of China. 😉)

A passionate girl in whom there reside the soul of an explorer and the heart of a contemplative introvert, I enjoy travelling and meeting people. I’ve left home since 2013, drifting in between the UK, China, Canada, Taiwan, and Europe. Now living in Dresden (hopefully permanently)!

I worked as an academic director and teacher trainer for language training centres. On the side I'm a researcher of applied linguistics who enjoys reading about the brain, language(s), culture and education. Born and raised in Taiwan, I am a multilingual of Mandarin, English and Minnan, striving to learn French and German. One day I hope to do more research in language and literacy education, psychology or psycholinguistics.

I absolutely love dancing (Jazz, hip hop Jazz, dancehall, reggaeton, etc) and would love to tap into contemporary dance and salsa/tango! Playing badminton, cooking, watching films, swimming, reading, hiking and eating are some of my favourite things to do.

Traveling has blessed my life with perspectives, changing my ways of experiencing the world, of looking at people, and of living life. It slowly builds in me an appreciation and understanding of the beauty in the creation of, and diversity in, human cultures.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I often travel alone but enjoy good company to share the excitement of discovery; the CS community has allowed me to do so by connecting locals and travellers. I've met real mates from CS and would like to continue doing so!

When requesting to stay, please tell me about yourself, the trip and why you'd like to stay with me instead of others. If you include the word 'sunrise' (however you wanna do that) in your message, there'll be a greater chance that I click accept.

Interests

Dancing - Jazz, hip hop Jazz, dancehall. Would love to learn modern dance & salsa
Reading - I'm a slow but passionate reader.
Singing and playing instruments make me happy!
Swimming, hiking, watching films, walking, kayaking, and cooking.
Badminton 🏸

  • singing
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • baking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • sports
  • swimming
  • teaching
  • languages
  • study
  • lakes
  • cultures
  • film
  • movie
  • teaching languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Books:
Anything written by Tolstoy
Crime and Punishment
Paradise Lost
Never Let Me Go
The Scarlet Letter
The Atonement
Pride and prejudice
Anything related to the brain, linguistics and education
etc.

Movies and TV:
GoT
Bohemian Rhapsody
The Sunrise Trilogy and Richard's other works
The Shawshank Redemption
The Lord of the Rings
Avatar
Isle of dogs, Royal Tenenbaums and other works by Wes Anderson
Marvels... 😛

Absolutely no horror films

Music:
I love broadway musicals, especially Wicked, The Lion King, and Les Misérables (and The Dream Cast in Concert (1995)!!!!!!!!!!!!
The Beatles
Bob Marley and reggae
Ain't No Sunshine
I can tell that we're gonna be friends
Anything that's pleasant to the ear really, and songs that make me dance :)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Working five jobs while finishing up my degree & applying to a Masters & visiting family regularly & holding up a relationship & moving houses, sleeping three hours per night for an entire year, and still loving and appreciating life :)

Teach, Learn, Share

Smiles stories dances and good memories :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Norway, Poland, Qatar, Scotland, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Taiwan, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Cathy’s full profile.

My Groups