Logo orange

Jussi Salonen

Finland

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jussi's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 5 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Finnish, German; learning French, German, Swedish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • freelance singer
  • master of music (church music&voice ...
  • From Jämsänkoski, Finland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I'm now in Helsinki until April 20th. My place is really small, I only have a shitty guest mattress, one pillow and no extra sheets and no cover/duvet! So I think I could accommodate one person for one night here, depending on my working hours. Also I'd prefer someone with some common interests, would be cool to hang out and chat. Anyways, with one room apartment the guest mattress would have to be in the same room with me. So, the conditions are very modest but at least the location is quite nice, I'm in Kallio hipster area, 5 min walk from Sörnäinen metro (which is 5 minutes ride from the central railway station "rautatientori" metro).

to have fun and learn about our planet, it's people, landscapes, animals, plants and everything... to learn about human nature and human behaviour. To teach others what I've learned. To know myself.

ABOUT ME

Create your own visitor map!

PHILOSOPHY

I want to be interested in life in as broad and diverse way as possible. I believe we are here for a reason, to learn, live and to experience everything that is possible to experience. I'm interested in what we can see but also what we can't and about how these two - the visible and invisible - resonate with each other.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've been travelling many times with choirs. Very often choirs tend to have a host choir and then live with the families of those choirmembers. I've done that in Japan (three different families in different cities), Estonia, Argentina, Germany (two different places), Hungary, UK (in London, Llangollen and Newcastle), Norway and stayed in four families during the world youth choir concert tour in South Africa and Namibia. I've been visiting friends in Stockholm and Gothenburg (Sweden), Leuwen (Belgium) and Sicily (Italy). In Gothenburg me and six of my friends spent two nites in a room of maybe 12 square metres, that was pretty tight...

When living in Tampere, I attended cs-meetings regularly in order to get to know more people from there. I was also hosting someone while there. My first visitor was a scottish guy when I lived in Kuopio, he came for a visit when I had just joined Cs like the day before! I was quite surprising but we had a nice time.

Interests

Philosophy, human nature, good food, good beer, history, urban planning, opera, singing, choirs, conducting, classical music, church music, cooking, english slang-words, travelling, Internet, German language&culture&history

Music, Movies & Books

I love renessaince and baroque music, Bach is my favorite composer. Another love is opera, but I most music styles are somewhat interesting to me. A lot of folk music from different parts of the world are of interest as well, one of my greatest musical experience was to learn, practice and perform African traditional songs in South Africa with the World Youth Choir.

Finnish rap (and also other non-English rap) is sometimes cool. English rap as well.

When I go out clubbing, I wanna dance and R'n'B is most def the type to get my booty shakin' ;)

Sometimes I'm a bit lazy with watching movies, but I often prefer more artsy fartsy type of flicks than your average blockbusters. I love Almodovar movies for instance. But I also have this side which likes crazy ass, big budget, special effect filled catastrophe or sci-fi movies :)

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Belgium, China, Cyprus, Estonia, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Luxembourg, Namibia, Norway, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, Finland, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Jussi's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile