Justin Harrison's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 15 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Justin’s full profile.

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Korean, Spanish
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2023
  • Teacher
  • Bachelor of Arts (History); Master's Degree (Education)
  • From Guttenberg, NJ, USA
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

New to couchsurfing, but have more than 50 positive host reviews on Air B&B. I am an explorer, backpacker, and nature enthusiast. I especially love looking for birds and other wildlife independently, at my own pace. As a traveler, I tend to prefer exploring places at a relatively slow pace, as opposed to moving through quickly in order to rack up country totals. From the United States, spent seven years teaching English in South Korea, and am planning to move to Colombia in the near future. After a year long delay due to the COVID-19 pandemic, I backpacked Latin America from Mexico to Southern Argentina over a 20 month period.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

It definitely helps in terms of saving on accommodation when traveling! However, it is even moreso about meeting new people, making new connections, and building a love and understanding for each location. This applies whether it is new or familiar.

Interests

  • writing
  • photography
  • hiking
  • dinosaurs
  • paleontology
  • birdwatching
  • sharks

Music, Movies, and Books

I love all music! Some favorites include Queen, the Doors, Metallica, Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, and the Beatles!

Too many favorite movies to count: Jurassic Park, JAWS, Titanic, the Graduate, Full Metal Jacket.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Cage diving with great white sharks at the Neptune Islands in South Australia (January, 2018). Few things can quite compare with seeing these magnificent creatures up close!

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: If you are learning English or are interested, I would be happy to show you how!

Learn: I would like to continue learning my language skills in Spanish and, if the opportunity should arise, to start learning Portuguese. I would also love to learn about preparing local dishes.

Share: I would love to share in my joy and love of bird watching with you and go out to explore in nature!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am unable to host due to the fact that, when I living in the United States, I bounce between family members! What I can share, though, are many other things. These include language exchange/tutoring for accommodation is you have children, as well as help cleaning and cooking!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Belize, Brazil, Cambodia, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Ethiopia, France, Guatemala, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Mongolia, New Zealand, Panama, Peru, Philippines, South Africa, Taiwan, Thailand, Uruguay, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

South Korea, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Justin’s full profile.