Julia Beni's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login almost 9 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 6 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Student
  • finishing my bachelor's degrees
  • From originally Green Bay, WI; effectively Mpls, MN & Mérida, Vzla
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To ride my bike and grow my own food. A wise woman once told me that's those are some of the most radical things you can do.

ABOUT ME

I'm a pretty laid back lady. I love being outside (can't stand being indoors all the time- feels like I'm in a closet). I really enjoy tasty foods like Indian, Thai, Mexican, Mediterranean... I'm vegan. I love bikes and plants and cooking.
I appreciate thoughtful art and genuine people.
I'd like to fancy myself a grounded, open-minded woman.

PHILOSOPHY

Live and let live; if it sucks, improve it with a good beer.
Ride your bike.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I always get a charge out of exchanging ideas with people of different viewpoints and backgrounds (obviously in a respectful way). I think that one of the most valuable ways that a person can learn about oneself is to see their values through others' perspectives; travel and experiencing other cultures has been one of my greatest teachers.

Interests

bikes, beer, rock climbing, mountains, community gardens, plants (I really like the carnivorous and epiphytic ones), electronica. There's a million others that I've forgotten.

  • arts
  • dining
  • cooking
  • beer
  • vegan
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • rock climbing
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

music: deadmau5, miles dyson, david west, inkfish, kaskade, colette, seeed, tres monos, dj Mustang Sally, the bloody beetroots, designer drugs, gotan project... lots of electronica... miles davis and lots of jazz... the be good tanyas, rachel ries, jolie holland, kaki king, janis joplin... lots of bluegrass and folk

Currently I'm reading Pilgrim at Tinker Creek by Annie Dillard. She writes with an incredible voice and is really playing the melancholy blues to my wanderlust right now.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

a yearling grizzly bear haul ass straight up a tree. He was all of 10 meters from me..

Teach, Learn, Share

These are interests of mine; particularities, and all of them are things that I am more than eager to teach (what I may know), would love to learn more about, and openly share what I have.

I've studied and spoken Spanish for 10 years now and spent a year abroad developing a ridiculous accent.

I'm a amature/faux bike mechanic who would love to learn more or help out with what I can.

I am a gardener and aspire to be a botanist (when I'm through with school). Ethnobotany (people's use of plants) fascinates me.

I am a cellist (though I recently had hand surgery...) who pretends to be a guitarist and vocalist under duress.

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia’s full profile. It’s free!