Logo orange

Jeremy Chan

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Wants to Meet Up

Last login about 22 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jeremy's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 20 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in Chinese, English, French, Taiwanese; learning Dutch, German, Italian, Malay, Spanish
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Student/Netball coach/software repor...
  • BEng./BComm./DipLang/the world is my...
  • From Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Finish my damn studies and/whilst getting out there to discover what the world has to offer!

ABOUT ME

Throughout my life I've had an insatiable desire to venture from the comforts of home and unravel the distant corners of our world.
It's the chance to open the doors of my soul to the necessity of relating to habitations and environs far-flung. An uncontrollable adventurous spirit is a make-up for being a lifelong city kid.

Curiosity is what drives me to learn and discover as much of the world as I can with a passion. I love experiencing new things; making the effort to learn about myself along the way.

Studying abroad in France in 2012 only served to whet the Reiselust, a lesson in the richness that immersing yourself in flavours and cultures outside your comfort zone brings about.

Down to earth version: if you find me back in Melbourne, I'm continuing my education the boring way, soaking up our fantastic food, coffee, music, awesome people, and random nooks and crannies.

PHILOSOPHY

Ars longa, vita brevis.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I intend to depart for Europe and Central Asia once more for some time next year and CS will feature heavily.

It's been pretty effective in integrating myself in the heart and soul of a destination.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Hosting: 2012 -
Surfing: 2012 -

Melbourne -> Europe -> Latin America -> South East Asia

visited 21 states (9.33%)Create your own visited map of The World or Like this? try: Archean

Interests

Left/right brained.

E.g. Sketching, architecture, acting and photography.

Or: Board games and puzzles -- chess, tarot, and Rubik's cube.

Music; I play the guitar and piano to varying extents. I'm also likely to plunge into a gig or a festival.

Camping, caving and rock climbing, swimming, yoga and cycling.
I've grown up sailing and have done so competitively.
Skiing and snowboarding are favourites of mine too.

I have a little penchant for languages and the way they can express such different ideas and values. Admittedly, getting thrown into an environment where I need to speak a foreign language brings a bit of a thrill.

Music, Movies & Books

Arthouse, intelligent dramas or comedy films rock my boat. Fellini, Coppola and Miyazaki are perennial favourites of mine.

My taste in music is more or less eclectic and spans anything from jazz to hard rock to more indie and progressive rock.

I'm a voracious reader and am especially keen on (among many others):
Classic literature: Le Comte de Monte-Cristo, Bel-Ami, War and Peace, Les Misérables, Ben Hur; Tom Jones
Sci-fi: the Foundation Series; I, Robot; The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy; Válka s mloky
Mondern literature: The Kite Runner; Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas; Homage to Catalonia; On the Road; Sonnenfinsternis; The Right Stuff; До́ктор Жива́го; Жизнь и судьба; Die Blechtrommel; Cold Mountain, Βίος και Πολιτεία του Αλέξη Ζορμπά, The Caine Mutiny; Brave New World; the Manchurian Candidate; Libra; Ма́стер и Маргари́та; For Whom the Bell Tolls; Mila 18, The Seed and the Sower; Das Schloss
Thrillers: Jurassic Park, Hannibal, The Hunt for Red October, The Godfather

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Chilling (pun intended) beneath Nepal's tallest waterfall...in the middle of winter. Doing community aid work in the country counted as amazing in itself.
(Ask me how I discovered a bit of my heritage there.)

I've navigated and crewed a tall ship (the 'Young Endeavour') through the Tasman Sea in 2011.

I did the same across the Atlantic in a smaller ship in 2013, during which I had the privilege of helming her across the Equator. Throughout that time we had enjoyed the company of incredible sunsets, dolphins and pilot whales.

Cliff-jumping off Cassis, France was possibly the craziest and best thing I'd done.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach:
Languages?

Recounting any choice season of Doctor Who within the past 10 years.

I'm also happy to share the following: chess, Rubik's cube, card games, the abacus, the guitar, street photography, drinks mixing.

I've been sailing since I was 9, so I can share those experiences or just teach you the basics of knot-tying.

Learn:

Because saltwater is in my blood, I'd love to get into windsurfing, paddleboarding and kayaking among others.

Dancing (salsa, tango, reggaeton and swing) is something I'm always keen to learn.
If you juggle, do contact improv or Parkour, I reckon we'd make great friends.

What I Can Share With Hosts

My pancakes have Michelin star potential.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Monaco, Montenegro, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Paraguay, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, France, Singapore

Join Couchsurfing to see Jeremy's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile