Julia Norton's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 21% response rate
  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 8 References 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Japanese, Spanish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • ELA Teacher
  • MA TESOL
  • From Orlando, Fl
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

I'm a 27 year old English Language Arts (ELA) teacher with a passion for traveling. I've lived and worked abroad multiple times and feel like every time I travel, I learn something new about people, the world and myself. I have had fantastic experiences while couch surfing and have made many wonderful friends.

My current international destinations in 2018 are: London (completed in March), Copenhagen, and various areas in Morocco.
My current domestic destinations in 2018 are: Cincinnati (completed in Feb.), Nashville, Baton Rouge and Knoxville.
My current in-state destinations in 2018 are: Cassadaga, Deland and Tampa.

PHILOSOPHY

Que sera, sera.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am currently settled in Florida, but I hope to participate this year in various places while traveling.

I would also like to host some people now that I have my own home. I have a three bedroom home. The guest bedroom has two beds and the couch in my living room is the size of a twin bed. The other couch is the width of one, but not quite the length. I've slept on it, though, and it is comfy! There is a bed in the rat room as well. If it happens that you're a big group, I can move the rats so you can have the room to yourself. They're kind of smelly so I'll get them out of there, haha. Just please give me fair warning so I can set that up for you.

I work as a teacher so that means Mon-Fri I'm waking up early and leave the house around 6am. I do have an obnoxious alarm clock (like three, actually) but I try and silence them as soon as I wake up and keep quiet so as not to wake you. I get home from work around 6pm usually. Teachers work a lot of hours! When I get home, I usually just get right to grading. I know, oh-so-exciting, right?

During the week, I don't have much availability to travel around, but I do have a Florida guidebook that you are more than welcome to borrow and I can give you some general recommendations on where to eat, what to see, where to visit, etc. I'm much more available during weekends if I'm in town (I'm out a lot as I do my own travels and blog about them: www.microadventuresandme.com -- shameless promo, sorry!!! haha) and will happily show you around Orlando, Winter Park, Deland and even a bit of Winter Garden if you have time. :)

Full disclaimer: I have animals! I rescue them so there's a lot. The rats have their own room, but I have two bunnies and two cats as well. The bunnies live in a huge hut with play time in an exercise pen and the cats roam about the house. JUST SO YOU KNOW!! The rat room is smelly! Haha. I try and keep the smell down as much as possible, but male rats are like frat boys... every morning is like waking up to a frat party aftermath. (The girls are so, so much tidier and sleep in my room.) I keep their door shut, though, but you are more than welcome to visit them and feed them treats. They'll love you for it.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I couch surfed through various cities in Poland and Germany and it was amazing.

Interests

Meeting new people, languages, cultures, art, science, math, history, education, teaching, writing, reading (a lot!), outdoorsy activities, film

  • arts
  • writing
  • education
  • reading
  • traveling
  • surfing
  • teaching
  • history
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

I love foreign films - especially French films and Korean/Japanese dramas. I also love American/BBC dramas and a well done comedy.

I mainly listen to bands over genres and songs over bands. I discovered iTunes recently and am completely addicted. Two Steps from Hell is my most played band, followed closely by Imagine Dragons and Thomas Bergerson.

I will read anything and everything. My favorite book is "The Hero and The Crown," by Robin McKinley for nostalgic reasons. I am a huge bookworm.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Magically not died yet.

Teach, Learn, Share

People with interesting hobbies, people who are sociable, people who are calm.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, China, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, England, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Russian Federation, Spain, Vatican City State, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Poland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Julia’s full profile. It’s free!