Katie Soule's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 9 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Katie’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • 2007-'08 I taught english at Quaker/boarding highschool/f...
  • BA (Literature/music/education) Marlboro College, VT-2007...
  • From Bristol, NH, USA
  • Profile 80% complete

About Me


I want to collect some diverse new life stories in order to become a better highschool english teacher down the line. I've lived in New England my whole life; now I want to meet people I've never met, and to see the places I've never seen.


I've been in school pretty much my whole life. I took one semester off from college to travel in Mexico on my own sophomore year. After graduating in December 2007, I spent the winter waitressing. Otherwise, I graduated college and went straight back to high school (this time to teach [at The Meeting School, a Quaker boarding school based on a farm]). This summer I've spent teaching Music out on Star Island (Isle of shoals off of Portsmouth NH).
I was offered a dream job teaching/houseparenting at said Quaker school in the fall, but I couldn't bring myself to accept the position. My entire being is craving some life experience (adventures!) at this point in life. I want to collect experiences that will inspire me to become a better person, and that will help me to become a better English teacher. In order to teach a book effectively to a class of high schoolers, I think one needs to have a wealth of experiences that she can reference when trying to get the kids to understand what the author's communicating. I've lived a fairly interesting life within the school system up until now; currently I want to expand my horizons.
On September 9th I'm going to hop a plane from NH to CA. I don't know anyone in Santa Cruz. I don't have an apartment, a roommate, or a job. It seems fairly impossible to land any of these three things even on Craigslist while on the other side of the country.
My hope is to couchsurf for a week or two while I'm looking at apartments and filling out job applications. During this period I'd like to connect with whomever offers to host me--a few good conversations over a few good cups of tea--some goodhearted companionship while I first make my way through the crowds of strangers on the Santa Cruz streets.
Some general things about me in shorthand:
I have a reputation for being optimistic and light-hearted. Tidy person. Don't smoke and rarely drink. Love to read dance, play music, write music for guitar/voice/chorus, long talks about religion/spirituality, talk about the news, bake eggless cookies. Would love to match your hospitality with a free piano lesson or something.


Movement towards understanding ACTUAL compassion is my main goal (and the most difficult to define). Basically...when I'm making mistakes or trying new adventures or figuring out complicated relationship stuff with someone, interpreting the past, or trying to map out a future turn in path...I want to be able to interpret all of that through a lens of compassion. It's difficult to explain and even more difficult to practice...sometimes the word "compassion" doesn't seem to sum up what I'm trying to encapsulate. I'm working on it.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I want to hear people's life stories, learn from them, then spread tidbits of acquired wisdom to those I meet. As I understand more about this project I might like to participate in more substantial ways.


None yet.


non-sketchy hitch hiking (to meet people).
Music! , books, writing, climbing trees, baking, religion, adventure, outdoors, dancing, swing dancing

  • writing
  • books
  • literature
  • dancing
  • swing dancing
  • baking
  • drinking
  • politics
  • news
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • guitar
  • piano
  • drums
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • rock climbing
  • teaching
  • history
  • religion

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: anton bruckner, hip-hop, Etta James/blues/old jazz, folk/bluegrass...I'm in love with just about all music.
Movies: the royal tenanbaums, my fair lady, the triplets of belville.
Books/authors: Middlemarch and other Victorian novels, Shakespeare, Haruki Murakami, Garcia-Marquez, Isabel de Allende.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've taught at one of the most unique (and moving) boarding high schools in the world. I'd love to tell you all about it.

Teach, Learn, Share

I Know: a little about teaching. Literature, music (chorus, piano, guitar, drums, accordion).

Would like to learn: more about religion, current events, literature, history, politics, outdoorsy stuff, more information/ advice on teaching,

Join Couchsurfing to see Katie’s full profile. It’s free!