Juan  Juárez's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 6 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Juan ’s full profile.

Overview

  • 5 references 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning English
  • 42, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Optometrist Tech
  • College
  • From {"id":"place.665693","text":"Guatemala City","center":"Guatemala City","place_name":"Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala","geometry":{"coordinates":[-90.5314,14.6228]},"bbox":[-90.579024,14.537163,-90.380377,14.713173],"properties":{},"place_type":["place"],"context":[{"id":"region.66653","text":"Guatemala"},{"id":"country.8797","text":"Guatemala"}]}
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To be beyond my limitations, think out the box, exploring the world and start again.

ABOUT ME

Hi Im Juan, my family called me "el canche" thats my nickname, I was born in Silver Spring, MD and grew up in Guatemala city. At this moment of my life I would like to search my paht and find whats the universe has for me. I enjoy travel abroad, to play chess and sometimes when I feel like Shakespeare or Cervantes, to write my bullet journal. I worked as an optometrist technician almost 20 years in a row. Single at the moment, no kids, but may be some day, who knows.

PHILOSOPHY

I always believe in a peaceful world that shows us the beatifull way of living, among each other, in love and respect, no matter the ethnicity, religion, political believes, just to have a good time and learn about overcome obstacles.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

My cousin Jonathan told me the great experience to host and know people around the world. I did it several times at my home in Guatemala and then in Costa Rica.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

When I received travelers at my home. That was amazing. Now its time to switch to be a traveler and meet interesting people.

Interests

Most of it, when I am alone I like to read fiction historic novels, like Napier, Posteguillo, Rutherford, Follet. To write in my journal using the fountain pen ( I loved it).

With people around, to drink a good mug of beer, to dance merengue or bachata (I'm trying to do my best), of course, to play chess, especially blitz. Not forget the museums, art galleries, movies, theathers, restaurants, concerts, tomorrowland, music festivals, sports such as: running, bycicle, swimming, soccer, basketball, baseball and many others.

  • arts
  • dancing
  • wine
  • chinese food
  • coffee
  • nightlife
  • movies
  • chess
  • music
  • bycicle

Music, Movies, and Books

Ken Follet, Yuval Harari, Stephen King, Howard Philipe Lovercraft, William Napier, Santiago de Posteguillo,
Favorites books, mosts of terror and suspense and also motivational and self growth.
Movies: Avatar, Braveheart, Endless story, The Gunniess, E.T., Lion King, Dance with wolves, Predator, Lord of the rings.
Series: Game of Thrones, Vikings, The Five Rings, The Witcher, Rise of Etugrul(turkish), The Twilight Zone, Rod Serling's Night Gallery, Friday the 13th The Series, Monsters, unsolved misteries.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Run a 10 kilometers race,
To swim in an ice pool for 2 minutes.
To read the book: World without end from Ken Follet all nigth long untill finish it.
To travel to Washington D.C. just for a job interview witout planning and even without baggage.

Teach, Learn, Share

If you hit the spot just ask me...

Countries I’ve Visited

Costa Rica, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Panama, United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Juan ’s full profile.