Kara Hunter's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kara’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Khmer
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Student
  • University
  • From MI, USA
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

Hi there, I'm a final year International Development student in the UK. I'm an avid traveller, I've recently returned from doing 6 months of anthropological research in Cambodia. My life revolves around travel, helping people, and learning. Good conversation and unique experiences are what it's all about!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

As I mentioned, I travel quite often. It would be nice to use this as a platform on which to meet interesting people and to find accommodation with more interesting people than I might find at a hostel or hotel.

Interests

Guitar, literature, feminism, going out, Netflix, social anthropology, cycling, etc...

  • literature
  • womens rights
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • music
  • guitar
  • cycling
  • anthropology

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Childish Gambino, Casey Veggies, Apani B. Fly, Kimya Dawson, Johnny Flynn, Sufjan Stevens, Frightened Rabbit, Massive Attack... And so much more.

I prefer TV series to movies: Buffy, Kimmi Schmidt, Luther, Death Note, Steven Universe.

Books: 11 Minutes by Paulo Coehlo, 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami, Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin, anything by Charlotte Bronte... I'm distantly related to Hemingway but I struggle to enjoy anything he's written aside from perhaps The Old Man and The Sea.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've recently spent 6 months researching the effects of foreign influence on Cambodia's sex industry whilst working at an NGO in Phnom Penh. I think I left a big part of my heart back in SE Asia.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach basic Khmer, guitar, recipes...

What I Can Share with Hosts

Willing to compensate financially, cook, clean, play music, buy groceries, take em' out for a drink.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bahamas, Cambodia, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Scotland, Spain, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Cambodia, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Kara’s full profile. It’s free!