Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Karen’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 9 References 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Student
  • No education listed
  • From Boulder, CO, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To breathe fresh air, drink good coffee, explore the mountains, cook like Julia Child, and do science.


I'm on the long road of post graduate education, currently working on my PhD in the earth sciences. I spent my formative years in Boulder, CO, and still miss having the mountains in my back yard. I lived abroad for the first time (in Wellington, New Zealand) last year, and am itching to do it again -- especially if I can be in such a beautiful place again!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I used CS for the first time when I was traveling around Europe with my brother after I graduated from high school. I found it was a great way to connect to the local culture, but each of my surfing experiences were definitely very different. I haven't been able to host since then, and haven't officially surfed either, but have done it in spirit (without the use of CS). So, a novice, but interested in doing lots more.


I love to be outdoors, either at an outdoor cafe on a sunny day or out in nature of some sort. I love to read, both fiction and nonfiction, and am always happy to have a conversation about literature. I dabble in writing as well, mostly creative nonfiction for now. Otherwise, I happily occupy myself with cooking, random facts, beer, folk music and dancing, museum-going ... and of course good conversations with friends old and new.

  • culture
  • writing
  • literature
  • dancing
  • education
  • cooking
  • beer
  • coffee
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • bouldering
  • music
  • folk music
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • earth science
  • teaching
  • science
  • mountains

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

My first caving experience, in a 300 meter long limestone cave just off a random road in Southland, New Zealand. In one of the caverns, if you turn your head lamp off and wait long enough, the glow-worms slowly light up all around you. It's like watching the stars come out one by one on a perfectly clear night.

I can't pin in to a single moment, but that feeling after hiking up a tall mountain when all of a sudden the world drops away from you on all sides, and the wind just whips through your body, and you don't stay on top for long because you can barely hear yourself think, but you feel so alive.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Canada, Chile, France, Germany, Ireland, Namibia, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

New Zealand, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    2 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Karen’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups