KAREN.BOEHLER's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 16 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see KAREN.BOEHLER’s full profile.

Overview

  • 368 references 319 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 68, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • How do I occupy my time here on this earth? Living. As fa...
  • BA Radio/TV/Film, minor in journalism
  • From Southern California
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

*****COVID note: I am fully vaccinated as of April 2021, but since I am 66 years old, would prefer my guests be vaccinated OR have a current negative test, and will mask up. And please note your status in your request. Other than that I am looking forward to hosting again.******

I am currently able to host, but am also looking for a volunteer to help me out while I recover from a hip injury. My doctor has not cleared me to walk, and I need someone to get me to doctor's/therapy appointments. I have a truck, but you must drive a stick or have a vehicle that can carry a wheelchair. (I have a full-time helper, but she's going back to work which leaves me in a huge pickle.)

Now, back to your regularly scheduled programming.

CURRENT MISSION

To try to enjoy life.

ABOUT ME

Well, most of this is in other posts, but I'm the type of person who is interested in pretty much everything, as long as it doesn't involve violence. (I'm not a football, boxing or martial arts fan.)

I guess that fits with the philosophy I wish everyone would live by, which is "Do unto others ..."

I'm of the opinion that as long as what you're doing isn't harming anyone else, you should be able to do it.

That doesn't mean I don't have rules. My property is a gun-free, smoke-free, drug-free place, but that doesn't mean I will condemn you for smoking elsewhere. (I may give you some grief about smoking.)

PHILOSOPHY

Do unto others as you would have others do unto you.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Once I get home, until I heal fully, I will just be hosting, but welcome all visitors. I also host HelpXers and WorkAwayers, and if you're looking for a longer-term stay, I'm open to that.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Both hosting and surfing.

I’ve been doing this for many years now, and absolutely love hosting. I've have made amazing friends both as a host and a surfer these past few years.

Interests

I am officially retired (although as a writer I don’t know that I’ll ever really stop doing what I do), and over the years have spent most of my time as a sports reporter.

My last job was working for a local high school/junior college as a sports information assistant, while also freelancing for the local newspaper. That meant I was often at some sort of sporting event, whether it was a pro baseball game, a mid-school football game, a high school cross country meet or a community rodeo.

My other love is motorcycles, and that's how I got to "work" 98 percent of the time. I've been riding for more than 40 years and I'd still rather get around on two wheels than four. (Despite the accident, I will get back on as soon as I can.)

All that said, there's very little I'm NOT interested in. I can get interested in everything from politics (I'm very liberal) to travel to the latest astronomical findings.

When I'm on the road, I look for natural sites, astronomical sites (observatories, planetariums, etc.), historical sites or just something unique to where I'm traveling.

  • cats
  • photography
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • baseball
  • astronomy
  • motorcycle touring

Music, Movies, and Books

Country western, folk music. Science fiction in books, TV and the very, VERY rare occasions I go to the movies.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Mother Nature continually leaves me awestruck, whether it's the Grand Canyon in the U.S., the night sky from the Warrumbungle Mountains in Australia, an alpine vista on the Germany/Austria border or a coral reef teeming with fish under the Arabian Sea.

Anything having to do with space travel leaves me awestruck, and I wish one of the places on "Where do you want to visit" was the Moon or Mars or beyond ...

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm open to just about anything so make me an offer.

My specialty is writing, which I really don't think can be taught, and I'm a jack of all trades, master of none, but ask me anything and I'll try to answer.

And I have taught English in Vietnam.

What I Can Share with Hosts

An enthusiasm for life.

As I said above, I don't know that you can teach writing, but I can try. I also can share a total love of exploring wherever I am, whether it be checking out the sights, tasting the food or exploring the culture.

I hope I can be as good a surfer as folks tell me I was a host.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Canada, Germany, India, Italy, Mexico, Nepal, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, United Arab Emirates, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

India, United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see KAREN.BOEHLER’s full profile.

My Groups