Accepting Guests

  • 40% response rate
  • Last login about 11 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Vicki and Karlin’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 79 References 63 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Sign Language - BSL, AUSLAN, NZS
  • 63, Other
  • Member since 2006
  • Farmer / mother / organic shop worker
  • University degree
  • From Waipukurau, Hawkes Bay, New Zealand, Karlin in Wellington, NZ
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To live wholly and happily with my family every day

ABOUT ME

Karlin, my 24 year old son, and I live on a small farm in rural South Island, New Zealand. We have a few sheep, chooks. We are both Christians and live daily with the Lord's influence. Karlin has Down's Syndrome, he's a friendly, lively special kid with enthusiasm for life. I love to sing, and act in local theatre productions. I have learned a lot about building and decorating after renovating my house. I like to spend time in the garden. Karlin is very keen on sport, currently into athletics, basketball, golf, swimming, cricket, powerlifting. We both do alot of biking. Currently we spend time in Richmond which is near Nelson and in the country about 20km from Richmond. We are not in Takaka at the moment, sorry, I can't seem to remove Takaka from our heading.

PHILOSOPHY

"Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind" ~ Dr Seuss

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Currently we are hosting other couchsurfers and occasionally, when travelling around NZ, we look for people to host us.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

we stayed with fellow couchsurfers all over in our world travels from April 06 until January 07. Now we are back home and are hosting at times and we now enjoy meeting lots of other couchsurfers from all over the world. We also experienced the couchsurfing collective held in Nelson in 06/07

Interests

Animals / Sport / Drama / / Singing / People / Education / Gardening /Organics

  • animals
  • horses
  • singing
  • education
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • sports
  • basketball
  • cricket
  • olympics
  • swimming
  • golf
  • teaching
  • beaches

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Participated in a whale rescue at a local beach.
Seeing many amazing wild animals on safaris in Africa.
Riding elephants in the jungle in Cambodia.
Watching Karlin and his team mates play the final and win the gold medal in basketball at the Special Olympics Nationals

Countries I’ve Visited

Cambodia, Canada, China, Denmark, Egypt, Fiji, Finland, Germany, Greece, Israel, Jordan, Kenya, Laos, Lebanon, Malawi, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Palestine, Sweden, Syrian Arab Republic, Tanzania, Thailand, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam, Zambia

Countries I’ve Lived In

New Zealand

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    7 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Vicki and Karlin’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups