Karmen Guilyard's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Karmen’s full profile.

Overview

  • 1 reference
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Adventurer
  • Bachelor of Science in Marketing
  • From Kernersville, NC
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Travelling the world, making new friends and having fantastic experiences. We've been stuck finishing school for what feels like forever, and are ready to spend some time doing what WE want to do.

ABOUT ME

We are excited about life, happily in love, & want to experience the world while we're young and wild enough to do so with real gusto. Michael and I are a great fit together and we are always quick to make friends. We've often been told people enjoy being our third wheel!

I am spontaneous and very sociable. I LOVE food...from talking about it to cooking or baking; it is a passion of mine. I live vicariously through others by enjoying their happiness. I love meeting people and learning new things.

Michael is a little more reserved, but very kind and fun. He also LOVES food =) Mostly eating it, but he isn't a bad cook either. He almost always has a book on hand, usually fantasy novels, but he's happy to put them down and enjoy a fun night with friends (though sometimes he'll have his kindle in his pocket)!

PHILOSOPHY

I live life because it constantly has something new to introduce to me. I treat others the way I would like to be treated and that has always been my motto. I enjoy life so much because it has so much to offer...from hiking, to a well written story, to science and food; life is worth living. Enjoy it.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We believe that one should treat others the way they want to be treated. We learned this as children and it has always shown through in every situation we have experienced. We try to never hold any expectations; we just want a positive experience to look back on and lead us into further great opportunities.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We have not had much couch surfing experience. Although we have often hosted many close friends and relatives because we live close to the down-town bars in our current town of Boone, North Carolina. We keep a clean home.

Interests

We love to cook and bake. We love cheese, bread, BEER, whiskey and steak. We also enjoy reading and relaxing but aren't afraid of getting up and getting active.

We live in the mountains and love hanging out on the rivers in the summertime with friends. There are many great hiking trails in our neighborhood, we'd like to see some more!

  • books
  • dining
  • cooking
  • cheese
  • beer
  • baking
  • modeling
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • science
  • rivers
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

I grew up reading Harry Potter books. Since then I have always enjoyed books that get me away from our reality that becomes so enveloping sometimes. I love live music! I was raised on Led Zeppelin, AC/DC, the Beatles and Queen. Since then my tastes have grown into liking anything that can make me dance except for country music...I despise that stuff.

Michael's fairly similar. He grew up on country/Zeppelin but really listens to just about anything these days from Indie to reggae to circus jazz. We don't get to go to the movies often, but catch the popular flicks when we can. Michael will talk to you for days about the fantasy novels he reads if you let him.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

A few years ago I drove five states north to New York in order to compete in a role model/modeling competition for the surfing brand, Roxy. I won that competition placing myself in the top eight finalist. It was a whirlwind experience and although I did not win I enjoyed the confidence I had in myself.

Teach, Learn, Share

Life is just a side effect of the universe. Therefore we must enjoy what we are offered daily by immersing ourselves in our freedoms.

What I Can Share with Hosts

We will happily cook for you! We are excited to share any stories and experiences, wisdom/advice, answer any cultural questions you might have!

Countries I’ve Visited

France, Italy, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Karmen’s full profile.