Karolina Bassa's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Karolina’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Polish; learning French, German
  • 19, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • student
  • Starting University of Oxford in October
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am lively, talkative person, with rather easy going attitude. I love travelling and art. I am an amateur photographer, I do a bit of landscape but it is the street photography that I truly love. From more formal side I am fascinated in Mathematics and Philosophy, which I am going to study at Oxford (yes, both of them :D and yes it is sensible to do that). I used to be a scout and it gave me an opportunity to know better the nature (also from the edge side - sleeping in the tent with a downpour outside and fun of this kind). On each summer I try to go to the Polish mountains and hike with a bunch of friends. I would love to see the world, to experience things, to get lost in new cities, to laugh, to share, to dance whenever occasion comes. I worked for Language school this summer and enjoyed it thoroughly.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

My friend (a guy who hitchhiked through whole Europe and North Africa) told me about it and encouraged to try. I would love to travel more and while being a student, money is a bit of an issue. Additionally, there is no better way to truly see and experience the place and its culture than interacting with people. I have been fortunate to meet many nationalities while working for summer language school, travelling and when completing the process to the uni, which only left me craving for more.

Interests

  • arts
  • philosophy
  • street photography

Music, Movies, and Books

From music I like old rock, I was brought up with Queen, Rolling Stones and the Beatles in the background. I also listen to more modern, maybe a bit alternative stuff: Hozier, Matthew and the Atlas, National, Eddie Vedder, Rag'n'Bone Man. My parents would go to the cinema at every possible moment so attachment to the film is in my blood in a way. I do enjoy timeless classics as Green Mile , Lord of Rings, etc. Girly as it may be I loved Pride and Prejudice with Keira Knightly and Me Before You with Emilia Clarke. From the popular bits: Game of Thrones - yes, definitely yes. There is a special place in my heart for Into the Wild. When it comes to books, it is everything, I am an ardent fan of reading and do it whenever I can.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I was a scout for 4 years and as a part of it i completed a few survival challenges, left alone in the woods in mountains. That was scary as hell but i truly enjoyed that.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can help with the languages I know. I am good at maths if anybody needs help with this. I can paint and generally exchange experiences. I can cook a bit. I would love to learn French (I am working hard on that), and try some country food. It would be also amazing to listen to different stories, exchange photographs etc.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I have loads of scary and funny stories from the time of being a scout. I hope I can spread the love to Polish mountains, I can cook a bit and will be more than happy to share my (short as it is, but still) live experience.

Countries I’ve Visited

Czech Republic, England, Germany, Netherlands, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Poland

Join Couchsurfing to see Karolina’s full profile. It’s free!