Kartik Sribarra's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 4 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kartik’s full profile.

Overview

  • 23 references 20 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Hindi
  • 44, Other
  • Member since 2008
  • Kartik: stay-at-home dad/homesteader/co-op store manager/...
  • Friends, family, acquaintances, strangers, and most impor...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

First and foremost: WE'RE NOT IN NEW YORK CITY! :-) Obvious to some, but we get lots of international requests thinking we're in the area. Actually, we're in "upstate" NY, 4.5 hours away.

...

And sorry to say we aren't able to host for the near future. Life just feels too busy and full and complicated and all that. I'm sure we'll get back into things someday, hopefully soon.

We lead relatively busy lives, due primarily to our little people and our inability to say no to so many wonderful life happenings! But when we're at home we like to cook, hang out with a beer, glass of wine or cup of tea, work in the garden, read and/or listen to music--all the while caring for the little'uns.

Our kids, Khai and Selah, are little bundles of totally awesome--seriously. It's great to be able to couchsurf with them and a wonderful way for them to learn about folks from all over the country and the world.

Some of our core values include justice, anti-racist work, community, respect and love. We recognize that this is all ongoing work, which we feel fully committed to. Having deep, insightful, loving/spiritual conversation always feels so nourishing.

PHILOSOPHY

Be kind. Give thanks. Share. Laugh. Compost!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

We've hosted a good number of individuals/couples and have surfed with several others. Seriously love this opportunity to connect; we've made several good friends in this way and many more friendly acquaintances, and hope it stays strong for many, many years to come.

Interests

Music, cooking, gardening, reading, biking, Ultimate Frisbee, beer, simplicity. And hanging out with our kids, of course.

  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • baking
  • gardening
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • skiing

Music, Movies, and Books

The River Why, 100 Years of Solitude, Raising Elijah, 1Q84, Sing Unburied Sing, On the Wild Edge, The Good Rain, The Brothers K, Siddhartha, Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime, Three Cups of Tea, Omnivore's Dilemma, I Thought My Father Was God; Monsoon Wedding, Shawshank Redemption, Life is Beautiful, Billy Elliott, V for Vendetta, True Grit; Brother Ali, Newgrass / New Acoustic (Bela Fleck, Darol Anger, Yonder Mtn String Band, Sam Bush, Carolina Chocolate Drops, Foghorn Stringband, OCMS), M Ward, Penguin Cafe Orchestra, Clem Snide, Digable Planets, Arrested Development, Eddie from Ohio, John Fahey, Leo Kottke

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Almost getting sucked into the Pacific Ocean at Golden Gate Park, SF... X-country skiing at Denali National Park... Traveling by train around India... seeing our kids being born.

Teach, Learn, Share

Gardening, mandolin, cooking, bike maintenance, baking.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Happy to cook you a meal and have some friendly conversation (hopefully interesting!). Kartik is decently handy and loves taking on small house projects. (While we very much enjoy humane/locally sourced/small farm/"friendly" meat and animal products, we are vegetarian when that's not the case.)

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, France, Germany, Iceland, India, Mexico, Peru, Sweden, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

India, Sweden, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Kartik’s full profile.

My Groups