Kasia Balas's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kasia’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 13 References 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Polish; learning English, French, German, Italian
  • 26, Other
  • Member since 2012
  • I read, much of the night, and go south in winter.
  • In the spirit of Victorian Era - I was taught mainly book...
  • From Nowy Sącz, Poland, close to the mountains
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


to self-educate, hitchhike, grow long, pretty hair and cut it all


I get overexcited easily. I enjoy walking fast, swimming in deep water, catching eye of strangers and smiling at them, buying books, mountains, retro fashion, photos of nebulas, tornadoes, aurora borealis and owls, listening to people speaking in foreign languages (also in ones I don't know), eating fish, drinking wine, coffee, dark beer.

My imagination doesn't somehow help me at cooking, which turns out nearly always to be an utter disaster. Same goes for painting. I read and read and read. My enthusiasm for life and people doesn't mean I can't be critical.

Also, I'm not afraid of pep talks, nonsense disputes and silences. I suppose that's because I don't search at every moment of my life to be deep and self-analysing (I don't even know if I can at all) - the fact that I'm simply sitting and blabbing (or not) with somebody brings me as much satisfaction as a solid argument on postmodern philosophy or problems of farming in Africa. I eat and dance a bit too passionately so sometimes it doesn't look good. I hate staying all day in a room when there's sun outside. I never get bored.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I'm a beginner but I feel like I'm getting addicted to it :)


Anything, from physics to baroque ornaments. I'm a mess of disconnected, often false data but you can always help me put some elements of the jigsaw puzzle together and I'm sure we'll both have fun doing this.

I read loads of things from different epochs but I specialize mostly in 20th century literature. I can talk about books with you for hours.

Also: I've been addicted to reading patient information leaflets from the age of 4 and I think that my pharmaceutical knowledge isn't bad by now.

Also: History of art, problems of heritage, observing connections between first language and cultural identity.

Also: Flower arranging.

  • fish
  • arts
  • culture
  • books
  • literature
  • fashion
  • dancing
  • waltz
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • coffee
  • yoga
  • walking
  • drinking
  • flowers
  • reading
  • painting
  • fishing
  • skiing
  • sports
  • gymnastics
  • tennis
  • swimming
  • history
  • languages
  • physics
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: mostly different variations of jazz, excluding smooth jazz - at hearing it I start to laugh and can't help but imagine CD covers similar to this one: http://mp3.uzhgorod.name/uploads/posts/2012-06/1339606554_smooth-jazz-all-stars-sexy-smooth-jazz-2012-.jpg

also electronic: from ambient, through trip-hop and nu-jazz to breakcore.

also new wave and punk. 70s till 90s with its prog rock and hard rock although I don't listen that much of it now - it's more sentimental, I used to treat this music as a religion in my early teens.

also folk-inspired music from different parts of the world, especially Breton, Finnish, Polish, Irish, Balkan, Latin American, Hungarian.

also oldschool dance music: tango and swing music makes me want to move.

also classical when I'm in the mood.

also many others.

also, this was a mistake to even start writing it so I won't try it with books and movies. A book I fell in love with lately and cannot stop loving - "The Brothers Karamazov" by Fyodor Dostoyevsky, a movie - "Once upon a time in Anatolia"

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I'll tell you about it when we meet, ok?

Teach, Learn, Share


1) I'm not an advanced player but I can teach you the very basics of tennis. I have 2 spare rackets of different size, so don't worry about the equipment.

2) I'm also OK at skiing and can host you in the winter at my hometown, which is 100 km south from Cracow and not far away from small ski resorts. (basically it's about 30 km from the slopes)

If you don't want to borrow the equipment there, which is usually possible at the price of approx. 10 euros per day, I have some spare sets of skis :).

3) Basic dance steps for waltz, rumba, chacha, lindy hop and foxtrot.

4) Anything I've learned about the European culture and didn't have time to forget yet.

I'm basically keen on anything that you'd like to teach me or feed me with, just if it doesn't mean harming anyone in the process ;). We can cook together at my place but I cannot offer to teach you Polish cuisine in exchange cause myself I'm a very, very bad cook. Too bad, Polish food is delicious. I can provide ingredients and do what you tell me to do. I eat everything except from hot pepper which I'm allergic to. I can do nearly all sports, excluding gymnastics and advanced yoga, cause I'm old and just can't bend too much :D.

I'd love to learn something about ikebana (生け花) and maybe arrange flowers together.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Morocco, Portugal, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Kasia’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups