Kasun Fernando's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 4 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kasun’s full profile.

Overview

  • 18 references 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Sinhala, Sinhalese; learning Italian
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Postdoctoral Fellow - Mathematics
  • University of Maryland
  • From Galle, Southern Province, Sri Lanka
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a Sri Lankan, currently living in Toronto, Canada. I am a postdoc at the University of Toronto conducting research in Mathematics. Apart from the research work, I like reading, traveling, and photography a lot.

I have had the chance to travel to many countries and cities because of my interest in mathematics (as a participant in math competitions and conferences). I used those travels as opportunities to explore different countries and cultures. I like meeting people, exchanging ideas, and sharing my own experiences.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Couchsurfing restores my faith in humanity. I have met so many wonderful and caring people through couchsurfing in the past. They introduced me to their culture, their food, and their way of life after welcoming me with open arms and with no judgement. Meeting local couchsurfers and travelers while in an unknown part of the world makes the journey even more memorable.

P. S. - Couchsurfing is an app/website for travelers and locals to meet and share cultural experiences, so please refrain from using it for other purposes.

Interests

Mainly,
1. Travel photography,
2. International cuisine,
3. Mathematics, Science and Technology,
4. Literature, and
5. Philosophy,
or anything intellectually stimulating.

Check out some of the photography (I do on a daily basis) at my Instagram account: https://www.instagram.com/kasun.fernando/

  • wildlife
  • culture
  • literature
  • architecture
  • photography
  • technology
  • traveling
  • history
  • philosophy
  • science
  • food
  • nature

Music, Movies, and Books

Books by Haruki Murakami, García Márquez, Arundati Roy, Tolstoy, Chekhov, Salman Rushdie, Orhan Pamuk, Romesh Gunasekera, Shyam Selvadurai, Tolkien, Khalid Husseini, Milan Kundera, Franz Kafka, Amitav Ghosh, William Golding and many others. A complete list of books I've read can be found at https://www.goodreads.com/review/list/4097654

Music: Everything ranging from classical to jazz to hip-hop.

Movies: Not much of a movie fan, I like documentaries and tv series more. But liked movies like The Imitation Game, Les Misérables, Inception and etc.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I always carry some spices and tea with me when I travel. I can prepare some traditional Sri Lanka dish (with the ingredients I can find in a nearby grocery) and share. I am open minded, knowledgeable and curious to learn about different cultures. So, we can have conversations about our cultures, and any other topic that is interesting.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, France, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran, Israel, Italy, Malaysia, Puerto Rico, Singapore, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Sri Lanka, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Kasun’s full profile.

My Groups