Katie Butcher's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Katie’s full profile.

Overview

  • 14 references 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish, Swedish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Environmental Scientist
  • BSc(Hons)
  • From Victoria, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To travel the world, have fun and meet many many people before I get tied down working!

ABOUT ME

After I finished a gruelling four years at university and decided to pack my pack and travel the world.
I traveled around Europe and Africa in 2010, visiting 30 countries in a year! As you can imagine I had some amazing experiences and met some wonderful people! Unfortunately I only started couch surfing in about October. I love it so much and it is definitely the best way to travel, I just wish I had of started earlier.

Since then I have worked in Australia as an environmental scientist and recently quit to start studying my masters in Finland!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I couch surfed in Europe in 2010, I also hosted when I was in Australia to repay the favor! I loved being able to show people the local sites and maybe have a beer or two!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Surfed with Beata Wnuk in Warsaw
Surfed with Anna and Brian in Krakow
Surfed with Prokop in Copenhagen
Surfed with Antje in Hamburg
Surfed with Michael in Chiasso
Hosted Marius in Mackay

Interests

Travelling and learning about different cultures, sports, africa, animals, fishing, the environment, films, the beach.

  • animals
  • environment
  • dining
  • beer
  • running
  • partying
  • movies
  • traveling
  • fishing
  • camping
  • surfing
  • sports
  • beaches

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Travelled Europe in 2010 and did the summer party thing
Rode Camels and donkeys in Morocco
Lived in a village in Ghana withour running water (best four months of my life!)
Worked in mining camps in remote Australia for six years
Worked on a pig and sheep farm in Devon
Worked at a hostel in Belfast
Worked and lived in a pub in remote Scotland
Volunteered with a wildlife rescue center in Laos.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to make Australian food
I can take you hiking. I am always looking for hiking buddies!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Travel stories and general good times!

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, China, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Scotland, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Finland, Ghana, Netherlands, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Katie’s full profile.

My Groups