Kate Weatherley's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kate’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference
  • Fluent in English, Indonesian
  • 38, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Urban Planner
  • No education listed
  • From Sydney and Melbourne
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Me? I'm positive, green, left, educated, professional. I'm adventurous, practical, balanced. Warm and friendly.

I'm clean and tidy and considerate. I'm also pretty adaptable, so let me know what goes and I'll fit in with that. As the Indonesians say, "When in the goat pen, bleat".

I've only just signed up, so I don't have any couchsurfing references yet, but I'm happy to put you in touch with some people if you'd like to know more about me.

I've been planning a (sustainable) house build for a while now, and the build has just started!! Looking forward to establishing my garden (permaculture), getting some chickens.

I consider myself a global citizen, but travel has been limited to camping trips and short getaways for some time, not counting my 15 year affair with Indonesia. I lived and worked there for 3 years in a past life (with an international community development bent) and I speak Indonesian fluently.

I'm highly adaptable. Practical, but I also have a creative streak. I make fun and have fun when it's presented to me. My curiosity about people and life means I'm very open minded. We're all different and I like to understand what lies at the core.

I have a 9 year old son, who lives with me 50/50. He probably won't be accompanying me on my couchsurfing adventures, but if there are kids in the house, I can fit in with that.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm about to head on a trip to Canada (BC), Seattle, Portland and San Francisco. My gorgeous friend Molly is getting married in Vancouver mid-July, so I'm planning a trip around that.

A hostel is all well and good for meeting other travellers, but a place is its people. I want to meet locals, have the area's secrets shared with me.

I live in Melbourne, I'm not in a position to host yet, but as of next year, my sustainable house will be built and that will have changed, so I'll sure be happy to return the favour then.

Interests

Urban design, anthropology, culture, sustainable gardening, anything to do with sustainable living really, including renewable energy technology, the state of the world, health - particularly the role that food plays in it, culture, and always up for a good chat about politics and religion if the other person is too. Social issues, current affairs, textiles...

Eating, drinking, walking, hiking, kayaking, museums, dancing, gigs, events... I'd really love to accompany you on a hike or a visit to a museum...

I'm starting to think about doing small scale sustainable housing developments. Not tiny houses, but flexible houses, multi-gnerational housing, that kind of thing. We do it sooooo poorly in Australia.

  • chickens
  • culture
  • design
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • walking
  • drinking
  • gardening
  • politics
  • technology
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • anthropology
  • religion

Music, Movies, and Books

Music - Indie, alternative, folk, various types of EDM on occasion, 80s singalongs, just discovered electro swing for a fun night out. Bach. World music. Anything beautiful. Not top 40, not metal, heavy punk or country! But that doesn't mean you have to have the same tastes!

Once a voracious reader, of literature, historic fiction, biographies, a bit of crime trash every now and then. I've slowed it down these days following years of uni and loads of reading for work. Lots of blogs to do with urban design and sustainability, food, health and wellness. Looking forward to getting into some books on my holiday.

Movies - Typically ones with subtitles, arthouse, documentaries vs hollywood blockbusters.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Life... let me have a think about this one!

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm afraid I can't teach you about the mind of our Prime Minister. I have no idea what he's doing, either.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Conversation and stories over a bottle of wine/cup of tea.
Snacks. :-)
I can weed your garden, tend to your pot plants. I love gardening.
I can help you move the furniture around if you need it? Happy to do a tidy.
Teach you some Indonesian, to arm you for your next trip there.
I can teach you how to make bebek betutu (Balinese spiced duck) if you can point me in the right direction for ingredients. But beware, it is a process.
Happy to cook for you or with you. I'm great at washing dishes.

Countries I’ve Visited

India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Nepal, New Zealand, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Indonesia

Join Couchsurfing to see Kate’s full profile. It’s free!