kat ealy's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see kat’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Swedish, Swiss German
  • 22, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • au pair/ ski instructor/ future nurse
  • No education listed
  • From Seattle, WA, USA
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

My name is Kat, I'm an American ski bum, painter, & friend taking a gap year, living in Western Germany. I grew up in the northwest, skiing in the Rocky Mountains, making trips to the ocean, and listening to amazing music, taking road trips and chugging coffee. I moved to Hawaii, where I learned to surf, lived the adventures I'd once dreamed about, and had my life change. I love to travel, explore, and want to see as much as I can in this lifetime. I'm always the girl that talks to strangers on the train and truly believe it's always better to take the chance and gain the experience.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have some major trips planned, and am looking for more than just a hostel, but new friends to make, stories to share, and experiences to have. There's so much more to seeing a place when it's with somebody who has grown and loved it. The more connections around the world, the better. Might I add, I will cook you dinner and make amazing (vegetarian) food.

Interests

  • culture
  • breakfast
  • politics
  • traveling
  • music
  • camping
  • surfing
  • skiing
  • languages
  • art
  • wild camping

Music, Movies, and Books

music : alt-j, strfkr, RHCP, Head & The Heart, 90's grunge, Gorillaz, Mac Demarco, MGMT, Tame Impala, Flume, a lot of indie stuff
movies : anything directed by Wes Anderson or Quentin Tarentino
books : Catcher In The Rye, On the Road, The Circle

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I really can't pick ONE, but I'll put a few:
Did a 500km, week-long, bicycle trip around the Pacific Northwestern USA, camping on a different lake every night,
Swam with wild dolphins in Hawaii
Hitch-hiked (& made an amazing new friend out of it)
Won tickets to an AMAZING Indie music festival (Bumbershoot) on the radio
Climbed Mount Olympus
Skiied in the French Alps
Sold my Artwork in a summer art show (Art on The Green) in Coeur d' Alene
Learned to speak pretty good German in just a few months

Teach, Learn, Share

I've taught skiing, surfing, and instructed rock climbing at an indoor wall.
I love photography and am often learning new things about it as I travel to new places and discover different types of beauty.
I am hugely into politics (studied Political Science) and love conversating over the state of the world, over a beer or campfire, or in the best case scenario: both.
I really believe if a person is able to have a conversation, they are able to learn immense amounts simply by having conversation with someone from a different country and walk of life. These experiences we crave and gain are even better when shared- and that's how we connect and learn.

What I Can Share with Hosts

stories, music, enthusiasm, energy, good times,

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, France, Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see kat’s full profile. It’s free!