Kate Hide's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kate’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 3 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 36, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Mature-Aged Backpacker ATM (was a Business Development an...
  • Diploma of Business and Management
  • From Perth and Broome, WA, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To keep ticking things off the list (which never seems to stop growing)

ABOUT ME

I have been 'travelling' since 2012. I feel it needs the inverted commas as I've more been living abroad. Firstly a year in England, then a dairy farm in France, back to Scotland, and now Canada.

I WWOOFed from June 2013 to October 2014 and have loved it. It's given me a whole new perspective on life, travelling has given me a whole new perspective on the world.

Combined I've got a new lease on life that the daily grind had all but sucked out of me. Now I want to marvel at something everyday.

I have met some amazing folks in my travels, many have gone on to be steadfast friends.

Generally speaking I'm positive and friendly but can be a bit reserved at times. I love to socialise but also enjoy 'quiet time'. My favourite moments could be anything from a yoga session to a 3am impromptu dance off… you just never quite know :)

I'm a bit of a nerd so love to do the nerdy things, love the outdoors and enjoy the company of others.

I'm really looking forward to meeting you all, somewhere on the travel trail :)

PHILOSOPHY

If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world… okay so I stole that philosophy from Thorin Oakenshield but I still like it and try to own it in what I do :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Surfer but will definitely host when I finally go home.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

So far so good. Currently I just want to surf, when I go home I will be a host. It's the best way to meet people and showing someone your 'stomping ground' is a great way to get reacquainted with your own surroundings.

Interests

Exploring new places and meeting new people, trying new things. I like to just 'exist' in a place and absorb it's daily culture.

  • culture
  • dancing
  • dining
  • yoga
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • outdoor activities

Music, Movies, and Books

Fave book - Hitchhikers Guide - Omnibus, The Celestine Prophecy or The Book Thief.

Fave film and TVs - Includes but isn't limited to; Doctor Who, Friends, The Princess Bride, Eat Pray Love,Empire Records, The Star Wars Trilogy (original), Rocky Horror, Breakfast Club and Gone With The Wind.
I do not like horror, zombies, vampires etc.

Fave music - I like a bit of everything but tending towards more mellow and folky (Black Keys, Imagine Dragons, Neil Young etc)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I honestly don't know where to start.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm on a 'Just Say Yes' *with small print* policy while travelling so I'm trying to do as many random things as I can. I'm not too outgoing so I do find some of it confronting but you only get one shot at it so I just try to swallow the pride and give it a go. I've done some great stuff while travelling and know I have a whole lot more to come!!!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Indonesia, Netherlands, Serbia, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada, France, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Kate’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups