Katherine Weiss's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Katherine’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Student
  • Graduated with a degree in History
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me

Hi! I'm currently an English Teaching Assistant at a high school in southern France. I have finished my studies and am taking this year to explore France a bit more.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I like to be immersed in the culture, rather than just being a typical tourist, and I think couch surfing is a great way to meet the locals, and see how they live! Studying History and International Studies has taught me so much about the world, but also that there is so much I don't know! The world is so big, and I occupy such a small space. I want to be able to share adventures and experiences with other people all throughout the world, and not just the city that I grew up in!

Interests

I love hanging out with my friends, exploring other cities, reading, and watching TV! During the school year, I focus a lot on my studies, but I love adventuring and exploring new places.

  • culture
  • cooking
  • reading
  • tv
  • traveling
  • surfing
  • teaching
  • history

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: 27 Dresses, Ocean's 11, Mission Impossible, Populaire, and tons of other movies! I watch a lot of movies/TV shows in my spare time and am always up for a new film.
Music: Classical, Pop, Jazz
Books: I love reading books by Jodi Picoult! Other than that, I read a lots of books based on recommendations- I'll read mystery, crime, drama, romantic, historical fiction. I tend to steer away from the Sci-Fi, but other than that I seriously love to read!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Spent three weeks in Chile! I went to visit a friend who was an exchange student in the states, and stayed with her family for three weeks over Christmas and New Years. It was incredibly difficult because her parents and a lot of her friends did not speak English, but it was also incredibly rewarding! I learned so much from the experience, and it reinforced my desire to travel the world and learn about other countries and cities!
(Also- I can't leave this out- I worked for the Walt Disney Company, and that was the most amazing period of my life)

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: I can help with English!
Learn: I am open to learning about all new cultures, and about other people's ideas on all topics of life!
Share: I can share stories and I can share how to cook some American meals!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share about my American culture, try cooking some dishes, and share my language!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Katherine’s full profile. It’s free!