Katherine Fritzlen's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 65% response rate
  • Last login 15 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Katherine’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 8 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Social Psychology PhD Student
  • Rhodes College, B.A. in Psychology. UT Knoxville: PhD in ...
  • From San Antonio, TX, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi! My name is Katie! Katherine is my full name but I go by Katie. I'm a person who is excited about life and wants to meet people, especially other travelers!

I'm getting my PhD in Social Psychology from the University of Tennessee currently! The majority of my time I spend on my research. I study attitudes, particularly attitude formation, prejudicial attitudes (i.e. negative attitudes) and political attitudes.

My research takes up most of my time but when I'm not researching I love to travel, read, go on adventures, hike, listen to music, drink good beer, and relax!

I'm outgoing, sociable, and tend to talk a lot once I get to know you! I'm also open to new experiences and down to earth so I'm up for whatever adventure I find myself on. I tend to try to find really unique, interesting, and unusual places in cities because I find those to be the most fascinating and memorable! I have a penchant for the eccentric so I'd love meeting people and doing things that are not "normal" or "conventional".

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love to travel and I want to meet other like-minded people who love travel as much as I do!

I've only hosted people thus far and I've had really great experiences so I'm excited to be able to stay with people and learn about their cities and cultures when I travel to Europe this summer!

Interests

I'm very social and I like to have fun but I also like to have interesting, intelligent and meaningful conversations. Social Psychology is how people/groups affect individuals behavior, thinking, etc. so I spend most of my time thinking about questions related to human behavior and thought (why people do or think certain things) and discussions about these questions.

Even though I study psychology, I'm interested in many, many other topics and I love learning new things from people who are passionate about their areas of interest!

  • culture
  • concerts
  • dancing
  • partying
  • board games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • psychology
  • beaches
  • urban exploration
  • craft beer
  • exploring new places
  • talking
  • research

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I love hip-hop, rock, jazz, electronic, indie music and am open to listening to any new types of music! Currently I've been listening to a lot of electro indie music such as Phoenix, Cut Copy, Miami Horror, Van She, Pnau, The Whip, Lost Frequencies, Empire of the Sun, Metronomy, Holy Ghost! and Chromeo!

Books: The Alchemist, 1984, Brave New World, East of Eden, The Bell Jar, Lord of the Flies, The Kite Runner, The Outsiders, all the Harry Potter books, Devil in the White City, The Chosen, Looking for Alaska, Lolita, The Tipping Point, Outliers, Between the World and Me, On the Road, The Great Gatsby, Shantaram... I love reading so I have a lot more book that I love but these are some of my favorite books! There are too many to list!

Movies: No country for old men, Lord of the Rings (all of them), Starwars (all of them), Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, Inception, Pulp Fiction, City of God, The prestige, V for Vendetta, Fight Club, Requiem for a Dream, Inglorious Bastards, Memento, The Good, The Bad, and The ugly, Goodfellas... There are more I just can't think of them right now!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've ridden on a camel in Morocco and spent the night in a Bedouin camp! It's definitely one of my favorite experiences!

Teach, Learn, Share

Learn: The more I know, the more I realize I don't know. There are so many things that I could learn about the world and I'm open to whatever opportunities are offered to me!

Share: I can share my knowledge of the world. I grew up in San Antonio, Texas (which has a large Hispanic and Mexican influence), lived in Memphis, TN and now currently live in Knoxville TN so I have experienced both southwestern and southern culture in the United States.

Teach/share: My research is also a very big part of my life and I'd love to share this information with others!

What I Can Share with Hosts

- A different worldview
- A good time
- Help with cooking or cleaning (whatever I can do to make my host's job easier)

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Chile, Cuba, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Latvia, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Katherine’s full profile. It’s free!