Kathy Mcgowan's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kathy’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 14 References 12 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Bulgarian, Chinese (Simplified)
  • 66, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • traveller
  • mainly through music, travel and football.
  • From Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I've finally escaped the noise and pollution of China and I'm off to the southern hemisphere for the first time before heading back to Bulgaria and my lovely little village.

CURRENT MISSION

To have a little wander about for a while.....

ABOUT ME

I'm English - more specifically, I'm a Geordie - that means I come from Newcastle but I usually live in Bulgaria where I have the pleasure of taking care of a beautiful piece of land. I love it there but.... I'm a traveller and a nomad really and every now and again I need to get up and see what's round the next corner.
I've just been in China teaching English at a University for 3 years and looking for every opportunity to explore this part of the planet ,,,and who knows what'll happen next....

PHILOSOPHY

to try not to leave too much mess on this planet and to take responsibility for the things that i am responsible for ...and to have fun.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

By being open, kind and caring and by really appreciating the food in any country I go to and hopefully learning some new skills to take back to Bulgaria. I like meeting new people and having a brief insight into their lives and sharing mine.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have been a host and a visitor with other hosptiality networks for years. I take working volunteers at my place in Bulgaria. I love the randomness of allowing people to come into your life for a while - but it's not really random because I think there is an energy around us that helps us to connect to the right person at the right time.

Interests

Travelling, seeing what's round the next corner, eating, cooking, growing food, sharing food, reading, long journeys, great shoes, body art, Newcastle United and I'm currently thinking about the possibility that the world is really flat - a fascinating idea.
I'm also getting into writing stories about my life and my travels -actually they're the same thing. I've abandoned the idea of wanting to get them published so now they're for sharing www.travelsthroughmylife.com

  • cats
  • arts
  • body art
  • dining
  • cooking
  • gardening
  • flowers
  • reading
  • traveling
  • talking

Music, Movies, and Books

just about everything from Bob Dylan to Dolly Parton. Currently listening to Van Morrison and Lonnie Donnegan 'The Skiffle Sessions' also getting into listening to BBC Radio 3 to learn a bit about classical music - everything Bob Harris plays on his music show on Radio 2 i usually love.
Movies - I haven't been to the cinema in years - I live in the middle of nowehere in Bulgaria and even though I watch stuff on the computer, I love the whole cinema experience. I like quirky films about unusual topics. I currently run an English Film Night for students at my University and I'm delighted to introduce them to classics like Dirty Dancing, Die Hard, T2
books - I gratefully take any English language book that happens my way - beggars cant be choosers- i've got 'A White Merc with Fins' to swap - its great!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sat on a wicker seat with a tartan blanket around my legs, being served a tray of tea in a china tea pot by a waiter in a complicated turban who called me memsahb while I watched the sun going down over the snowy peaks of the Himalayas.

Teach, Learn, Share

biodynamic gardening
making jams and chutnies
growing flowers
making gardens
I'm learning to play the Guzheng

What I Can Share with Hosts

Some good stories and food ~ I love cooking and I would be delighted to cook something for you. I've also introduced many people to the delights of English Afternoon Tea.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, India, Ireland, Moldova, Mongolia, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Bulgaria, China, Denmark, England, Germany, India, Ireland, Malta, Scotland, United States, Wales

Join Couchsurfing to see Kathy’s full profile. It’s free!