Katie H's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 20 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Katie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 5 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Indonesian, Sign Language - American, Spanish
  • 36, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • From Portland, OR, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I enjoy learning as much as I can from others. Some of my best moments in life have been from being able to appreciate the small things. I am grateful to have a wonderful family. My two favorite kiddos are my nephews. I study Sociology at the University of Oregon (Go Ducks). I have spent two summers studying long-tailed macaques monkeys in Indonesia. It was my first time leaving the US. After that, I found that I love to travel. There is so much to see and experience.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I think it is a great way to "pay it forward." I have hosted friends that I've met while traveling and think it's a great way to connect with locals and learn more about a community/culture.

Interests

  • culture
  • photography
  • education
  • cooking
  • running
  • reading
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • soccer
  • swimming
  • cultural studies
  • teaching
  • science
  • social science
  • study abroad
  • mountain biking
  • exploring new places
  • road biking

Music, Movies, and Books

I enjoy most music. I work in Adaptive Recreation and see the benefit of music. People who are nonverbal can use it as a form of communication. I think the same about traveling and not being able to communicate. Music is a way to bring people together.

I like action & comedy movies the most.

Books: Where the Wild Things Are (Children's book), Into the Wild, The World According to Garp, Cider House Rules, Into Thin Air, Kite Runner, Harvest for Hope, The Shadow of the Wind, Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Me Talk Pretty One Day, Fast Food Nation, Sociology of North American Sports, Breakfast at Tiffany's, and so many more... I love recommendations on books as well.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I adapted a backpack so I could carry a teenager (who used a wheelchair for mobility) into the woods for their first hike.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have worked in education and recreation. There is always something to learn from another person.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share stories, photos, and places to go see. I like to cook, learn new recipes, make flower arrangements, bring groceries, and bring whatever your favorite beverage is to drink. If there is a daily household task you need help with, I'd be happy to help.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Canada, China, Denmark, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Katie’s full profile. It’s free!