Logo orange

Katie Lally

Santa Cruz, California, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Katie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 4 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • full-time Student
  • College
  • From Venice Beach, CA/ San Francisco, CA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

kindness of strangers

ABOUT ME

I love traveling. I consider it my greatest source of education. I took quite a long time off from school in order to travel and build up "life experience" (so cliche, I know, but how else can I say it?) before deciding what I wanted to really study, and I'm very lucky I did that. I'm always looking to broaden my world view, whether that be through my studies, through art, people I get to know, new languages, etc...

PHILOSOPHY

hmmm.. trying to sit back and obverse myself a little more these days...

I believe everyone's experience and story is unique. I learned this from writing/ studying & teaching creative writing. Everyone has a few amazing stories to tell. I love stories. Tell me yours.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

hosting & surfing visited 19 states (8.44%)Create your own visited map of The World or Like this? try: Fridge Poetry

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've been using Couchsurfing since August. My partner and I stayed with a few great hosts that he found when we first moved to Germany, and since then I have stayed with some people on my own personal travels.

I love meeting locals, when I can, instead of staying in big, impersonal hostels or hotels. I think that most of the joy of traveling comes in connecting with others, having new conversations, practicing other languages. Couchsurfing has made this possible for me in the best of ways!

In 2003-2005, I used Globalfreeloaders.com quite a lot for both hosting and traveling while I lived in Barcelona, but I think Couchsurfing.org is now the network to use. :) I met many wonderful people through globalfreeloaders and through traveling in general and I'm looking forward to meeting more.

Interests

language, reading most anything I can get my hands on, eating well, urban farming, tango (an amateur, but in the true sense of the word... I do love tango), wine, my dog, daydreaming, occasional yoga, hiking, wandering, getting lost, dancing, meditation, huge cities, wild country, art, community theatre, passionate people, people with good laughs

Music, Movies & Books

I am a Comparative World Literature major, so if I start listing now it will be hard to stop...I'm currently trying to read James Joyce's "Ulysses" before my German courses start again. I'm usually reading about 8 books at once -- not the most practical system :) The last book I finished was "A Field Guide to Getting Lost" by Rebecca Solnit, an amazing essayist out of San Francisco. I read poetry in German, Spanish and French. Poems help me get a better understanding of a language that's not my mother tongue. I could talk about books for hours, so maybe we can save that for a coffee date.Films... I really like David Lynch's movies. I love the movie Dogtooth. I like stuff that Charlie Kaufmann has written (Synechdoche, New York; Being John Malkovich; Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind). I like a lot of well known art-house type French and German Filmmakers... Michael Haneke, Werner Herzog (my cat, in fact, is named Werner). Then of course films by Godard... French and German new-wave stuff. I like what you might call art-film (ie: the work of Maya Deren) but I'm also happy to go with friends to see the latest big movie in theatres. I like the experience of sitting in a huge theatre and watching a movie with a lot of people. So much better than watching off my computer screen at home.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

is also one of the simplest: My sporadic volunteer work teaching children has always amazed me. I worked in a mental institution for a while. That was pretty amazing, not always in a good way... Somehow, though, the experience didn't completely deter me, and I now am going back to school for Psychology. Eventually I'd like to work as a counselor for displaced or abused people.

Teach, Learn, Share

I would love to:Deutsch reden, parler français, hablar español with you. I love cooking with other people. (However, I don't eat meat :)

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belize, Canada, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Spain, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay

Countries I've Lived In

Germany, Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Katie's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile