Katie McMurtry's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Katie’s full profile.

Overview

  • 22 references 18 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Grad Architect
  • University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

------PLEASE NOTE: NOT HOSTING UNTIL NOVEMBER------

I am an easy going and friendly Australian exploring the big wide world until reality distracts me. I spent the summer (southern hemisphere) in my beauuutiful home Tasmania after travelling some of Europe and Asia solo in 2015. Now I am back in Europe, living with my boyfriend in Oost-Souburg (close to Middelburg), NL.

I experienced so much generosity and hospitality while I was traveling and love to give the same back. I am able to host sometimes when life isn't too busy, let me know when you need a place and I will do my best to help out.

I love being outside and seeing what nature can throw at me but I studied and worked in architecture so cities excite me too. I love to hear a story and share one too.

Everything always works out. Even when it doesn't, it does.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

From all the amazing places and things I've seen, the moments that have touched me the most are the people I've met and their stories. I really believe everyone has a story and every story that you hear effects your own. The more you put yourself out there the more people will surprise you. Being helped by a stranger is one of the happiest feelings life can give you.

Couch surfing, for me, is the opportunity to meet someone new and experience something you wouldn't have otherwise without their kindness. Nobody knows a place like a local, what better way to understand a place and a culture than to stay with the locals?! Now that I have a base for the foreseeable future I would love to give that feeling back to someone else.

Interests

Learning as much as possible. About anything and everything. Conversation. About anything and everything. There's not much I've tried that I haven't enjoyed and I will always try everything once. Especially if it involves being outside.

  • animals
  • architecture
  • design
  • cooking
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • camping
  • hitchhiking
  • eating

Music, Movies, and Books

My favourite movie is 'Ferris Bueller's Day Off'. My favourite director is Quentin Tarantino. I read a lot, I'm not sure I have a favourite book. Maybe 'The God of Small Things'. My favourite album is 'In Rainbows' by Radiohead. I don't think I have a favourite artist. At home (Tasmania) I spend a lot of time listening to live music. Most of my friends are involved in music in some way.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I can't decide on one so this is one of the first amazing things while solo tripping around Europe:

Hitchhiking around Iceland. Saw some seriously breathtaking things. It is so very wild there. I got stuck sometimes and was hungry and tired most of the time but it was incredible. The people I met that picked me up were more so. The stupidest thing I did was camp in -10 completely unprepared with a summer sleeping bag. But I survived!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I love cooking. Let me cook in your kitchen and you will never see a happier cook or share a happier meal. I love laughing so we can share that too.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Isle of Man, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Norway, Portugal, Scotland, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Viet Nam, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Katie’s full profile.