Katja König's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 5 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Katja’s full profile.


  • 1 reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in German; learning English
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • No occupation listed
  • Studium
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 80% complete

About Me

Like most people on couchsurfing, I like to travel around the world. I have discovered hiking for myself for 2 years. I was hiking in Portugal on the coast for 3 weeks in 2018 and in Nepal for 2 months in 2019. There I hiked to Mount Everest Base Camp. It was a great experience for me because both nature was breathtaking and people were kind.

My current plan is to hike the Pacific Crest Trail from the Mexican to the Canadian border in 2020. That's a total of 2600 miles. For this reason it is not possible for me to take someone into my apartment this year. But maybe someone can take me on my way to Canada for a night or two. I look forward to meeting new people on my way.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm on couchsurfing because I travel a lot. I don't just like to sleep in a hotel and move from place to place without getting to know the people. With couchsurfing it is possible for me to get to know the people and their way of life.


I love to go hiking and to be in nature.
In summer I like to meet friends and play beach volleyball.

  • beach volleyball
  • wandern
  • fahrrad fahren

Music, Movies, and Books

I don't have a particular style of music that I prefer. Depending on my mood, I like to listen to techno, indie folk or rock.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

My most exciting experience I've had was flying to Antarctica for 2 months. I was there working on an expedition to drill ice cores. These ice cores were taken to Germany, where they are then researched.

Another great experience was my first big hike over 2 weeks alone. I was hiking along the coast in Portugal.

Last year I got to know the beauty of Nepal and that you can be happy with just a few stuffs.

Teach, Learn, Share

Although I travel a lot, my English is still not that good. There are people who are naturally good at language learning, unfortunately I am not one of them. But I would like to put myself in the situation more often in the future to speak more English, to finally get away from my blockages in my head.

What I Can Share with Hosts

What I can share is my experiences in Antarctica and on my hikes.

Countries I’ve Visited

Antarctica, Belgium, Czech Republic, England, France, Gibraltar, Ireland, Italy, Nepal, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Portugal, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Katja’s full profile.

My Groups