Katrin Becker

Staten Island, New York, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Katrin’s full profile. It’s free!


  • observing, living, learning,...
  • university was last...
  • From Salzburg (Austria)
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


run into my PHD subject or any other sociological project


I consider myself:

funny, spontaneous, positive-thinking, sportive, inquisitive (Sociologist ;-) and interested in a lot of matters.

I sometimes find it difficult to adapt myself to socially accepted but boring minds or stupid rules.

I see myself open minded but not open to any bullshit either.

I do not appreciate people who always agree, ever lie or do not know about adequate body hygiene.


Even if you cannot see the positive side of a current problem: trust in the fact that everything will turn out good.
(Of course, talking about personal life and experience, not the political disaster all over the world)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Long story short:
After two years living in Colombia, I finally got stuck in Medellin.
At the time recently seperated I was searching to meet interesting, unpretentious people.

Now that I am travelling myself + on my own I am open to hang out, go out, laughing, learning, whatever...


I started only some months ago and I am very happy I did... :-)


I'm usually interested in any political, sociological, economic debate... (except with fascists)

I'm also interested in "pasarlo bien" and any sort of sports.
E.g. Ping Pong, running, sailing, Volleyball, ...

And I enjoy any kind of art(s) as long as they are unpretentious and authentic.

Music, Movies, and Books

Jazz, Jazz, Jazz, Salsa, (good) House, ...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I renovated my destroyed flat mostly alone during 5 months and did my mother's bathroom completely alone, without having any idea about tiling or anything before...

When I later saw the results, I felt like I could do anything :-) :-)

Teach, Learn, Share

(could) teach french and german.

(could and would love to) discuss sociological matters.

(could and would love to) teach women doing things with their own hands, instead of letting men do it for them.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bahamas, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Laos, Malaysia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Russian Federation, Serbia, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Colombia, France

Join Couchsurfing to see Katrin’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups