Katrin Einarsdottir's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 24 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Katrin’s full profile.

Overview

  • 175 references 124 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Icelandic; learning French, Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • horse-riding tour guide, travel writer
  • BA from UBC in English and Philosophy, MA in Tourism from...
  • From Reykjavik, Iceland and Vancouer, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I´ve visited over 200 countries! www.nomadiccosmopolitan.com has the details

ABOUT ME

My dream in life is to travel as much of the world as I can, so I made a goal to visit 200 countries before I was 30, which I completed in 2017 in Mauritius! I'm wandering through life as a seasonal tour guide, a so-called nomad and cosmopolitan, and plan on documenting all my journeys through blogs and photos. I love to share stories from my adventures, so check out nomadiccosmopolitan.com if you'd like to hear some :)
Besides being a traveler and a nomad, I´m also a yoga teacher, a latin dancer, a (horseback) rider, a painter, a musician (piano mainly), a philosopher, an environmentalist, an anthropologist, and always a traveler. My life philosophy is carpe diem!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I would love to meet and travel with as many different people around the world to enhance each experience... nothing beats a local to show you around!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

i had a couple people surf me and my roommates house in Vancouver, BC and lots of couch surfers my couch in Reykjavik; Ive met some great people this way. Ive surfed in Faroe Islands, Sweden, Denmark, Holland, Germany, the Irelands, England, the Isle of Man, Spain, Lithuania, Croatia, Argentina, Brasil, Uruguay, Paraguay, Canada, Iceland, the USA, Germany, Colombia, Venezuela, Peru, Nicaragua, Granada, Mexico, India, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Iran and other places in the Middle East, East Africa, West Africa, Morocco, Greece, Cyprus, a lot of cities in Italy, many of the Eastern Caribbean Islands, Madeira and the Azores Islands in the Atlantic, South Pacific countries, in Melanesia and Micronesia, and Taiwan. I love couchsurfing since it is more exciting to meet new people, and have local expertise when traveling in a new place! I have introduced many of my friends and travellers I´ve met along the way to couchsurfing, convincing them to make profiles, host and surf. I hope to spread the CS message loud and clear as I make my way to 200 countries!

Interests

traveling, playing piano, latin dancing (salsa and tango), horse back riding, writing, painting, photography, eating, cooking, drinking, sleeping in, learning the violin and guitar, snowboarding, smoking hookah and cigars, swimming, volleyball (beach, preferably)

  • horses
  • fish
  • arts
  • culture
  • writing
  • photography
  • dancing
  • tango
  • environment
  • cooking
  • beer
  • walking
  • nightlife
  • drinking
  • shopping
  • traveling
  • painting
  • music
  • guitar
  • piano
  • violin
  • opera
  • equestrian
  • fishing
  • skydiving
  • snowboarding
  • olympics
  • volleyball
  • swimming
  • anthropology
  • philosophy
  • tourism
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

The Fall, Babel, Pirates of the Carribbean, Oceans 11; Orishas, Manu Chao, Gondwana, M.I.A., Cesaria Evora, Citizen Cope, Lauryn Hill, Ray Charles, Gus Gus, Sigur Ros, Wiseguys, The Black Keys, Fat Freddy's Drop, Beirut, David Gray, Chopin, Rachmaninoff; George Orwell, Ryszard Kapuściński, Jared Diamond, Halldor Laxness, Mark Twain, poetry (Rumi, Gibran),

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

i cant list just one amazing thing, so here I go, one by one, all of the places I thought that moment was the most amazing moment of my life: skydiving in hawaii, sitting on top of a pagoda to see the city of 4000 pagodas, drinking an ice cold beer on the great wall of china, kissing on the eiffel tower, riding an arabian horse accross the egyptian dessert, watching an opera at the Sydney Opera house, playing with children around the ruins of Angkor Wat, every Disneyland Theme park in the world, seen northern lights in Iceland, snorkelled in the Great Barrier reef, swam with penguins and seals at the Galapagos Islands, watched the sunrise at Machu Picchu, played with penguins in Antarctica, tango danced the streets of Buenos Aires, hiked through Terra del Fuego, kayaked to Brazil from Argentina at Iguazu Falls, survived Burning Man in the Nevada desert, worked the Vancouver2010 Olympics, salsa danced/smoked a cigar/drank rum in cuba (not all at the same time), visited the Icelandic volcano Eyjafjallajokull a bunch of times, sailed across the caribbean to arrive in Colombia/Panamas Darien gap (we almost died), watching a rhinoceros give birth in a boma in Namibia, seeing wild elephants casually cross the road in Botswana, visiting Maya Sites in Central America including Chichen Itza, attended Bocuse d'or to see Iceland place 7th, celebrated my 24th birthday during Dominican Republic's Carnival in Santo Domingo, illegally entering and escaping the D.R. Congo, gorilla trekking in Rwanda, safari in Serengeti, becoming a Masai princess in the Masai Mara, riding arabian horses in the Sahara, swimming in a lake full of jelly fish in Palau, sleeping in an ice hotel in northern Norway, dogsledding in Svalbard...

Teach, Learn, Share

i am a great travel guide for reykjavik and Iceland! and if your into arts and culture, i can tell you about all the best museums and exhibits. if your interested in outdoorsy stuff, my masters degree focuses on the environment in Iceland, so i can definitely help you with that too! And if you just want to have a good time, I live right in the city center walking distance to Laugavegur, the main shopping and nightlife street.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I love cooking, dancing, and horse back riding equally, so if you like a good kitchen, some dance shoes or a pony, I´m your lady!

Countries I’ve Visited

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, American Samoa, Andorra, Anguilla, Antarctica, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Canada, Cayman Islands, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Curaçao, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, England, Estonia, Ethiopia, Faroe Islands, Fiji, Finland, France, French Guiana, French Polynesia, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Greenland, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guam, Guatemala, Guernsey, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jersey, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Martinique, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mexico, Micronesia, Federated States of, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Niue, North Korea, Northern Ireland, Northern Mariana Islands, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Romania, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Réunion, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin (French part), Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Sint Maarten (Dutch part), Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste (East Timor), Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turks and Caicos Islands, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Vatican City State, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Virgin Islands, British, Virgin Islands, U.S., Wales, Wallis and Futuna, Western Sahara, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Åland Islands

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Canada, France, Iceland, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    5 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Katrin’s full profile.

My Groups