Katherine Bennett's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 35% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Katherine’s full profile.

Overview

  • 40 references 35 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Portuguese, Turkish
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2018
  • Freelancer
  • Environmental Studies, Sociology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi everyone! I am a North Carolina native who is going to a small university in Southern California! (Due to COVID, our learning has moved online so I'm no longer in Socal and have moved back to NC). My university's motto is to create global citizens, and I think that CS is a great way to do that :) I love exploring the outside world (hiking, going to the beach, etc.), and I also like photography and know how to use a film camera. Aside from that, I love animals, volunteering, the beach, trees, teaching people what I know, and having deep conversations about everything, including politics, the environment, travels, etc. Oh, and I love languages! I'm studying Spanish and I'm trying to learn Turkish and Portuguese, so if you want to help me practice any of those, I would appreciate it so much :)

¡Hola a todo! Soy de Carolina del norte y asisto a una universidad pequeña, ubicada en el sur de California. (Debido al corona virus, nuestras clases están en línea; entonces, ya no estoy en SoCal y me he reubicado a Carolina del Norte). Un objetivo de mi universidad es crear ciudadanos globales y creo que Couchsurfing es una plataforma perfecta para eso :) A mí me encanta explorar el mundo natural (trekking, ir a la playa, etc.), y también me gusta la fotografía y sé cómo usar una cámara manual. Aparte de eso, me encantan los animales, hacer un voluntariado, la playa, los árboles, enseñar a mis amigos de qué sé y tener conversaciones profundas acerca de todo, incluso las políticas, el medioambiente, viajes, etc. ¡Ah, y a mí me encanta los lenguajes! Estudio español y estoy intentando aprender turco y portugués, pues si quisieras ayudarme practicar, yo te apreciaría muchísimo :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Since I'm a college student, I try to do everything on a budget, but this doesn't stop me from making travel a priority. I grew up in a home and a town where I was surrounded by biases and prejudices against other people and countries. Now that I'm older and have formed my own opinions, I want to visit as many different places as possible so that I can learn about other cultures, meet new people, and work to rid myself, my friends, and my family about unfair biases they have towards people/places that they have never met or been to.

Interests

  • cats
  • horses
  • traveling
  • cars
  • music
  • hiking
  • rock climbing
  • soccer
  • languages
  • beaches
  • football
  • film photography
  • exploring
  • ultimate frisbee
  • taekwondo

Music, Movies, and Books

I love pretty much any type of music! I grew up listening to rock, but I also love pop, country, reggae, latin music, and a variety of songs in languages that I want to learn (like Turkish, German, etc.).

I love reading but usually don't have time to do it :( Some of my favorite books are White Fang by Jack London, The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson, and Just Mercy by Bryan Stevenson.

I'm not much of a movie or T.V. person, but I enjoy the occasional movie in the theater and I like watching TV show comedies (like Family Guy, Bob's Burgers and HIMYM).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Solo trip through parts of the Middle East for over a month in the Summer of 2018

Studied abroad and traveled in South America in Fall 2019.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm happy to share anything! I can teach you some Spanish, how to cook a delicious spinach-artichoke dip, or how to dance (if I even remember how). I'd love to learn bits of other languages, eat local foods and meet local people. My goal is to be as little of a tourist as possible and see sights that aren't on a typical tourist agenda :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm willing to share as much as I can with hosts! I love exchanging stories, information, recipes, advice -- anything.

Countries I’ve Visited

Chile, Colombia, Denmark, Ecuador, Finland, Germany, Ghana, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Mexico, Palestine, Peru, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Peru, Turkey, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Katherine’s full profile.

My Groups