Katy Oakes's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 11 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Katy’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • English Teacher
  • Graphic Design
  • From England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I was born in London and grew up there, moving later to the Midlands. I've always loved the city but I'd say I'm a country girl at heart, I love to put on some wellies and go for a walk in the woods, or the hills or along the beach.

I studied Graphic Design in college but always found the confines of the education systems and the pressure to go to University very hard. I wanted to explore, to create, to live. I was lucky enough to find my escape landing a job as an Au Pair in Andalucia in 2013 and have never looked back since. I have lived between Spain and my home the last few years, returning home during the summer. I have been lucky enough to work as an Au Pair, teaching English in a Private academy to some wonderful children, living alongside some beautiful people and in the last few months I started teaching English myself.

I found something really fulfilling in teaching English the giving experience and the exchanging of language with others. I learned a lot about myself and also Improved my Spanish so much.

Although I am a shy person travelling has helped me to become more open to new things, I try to always keep time to be creative even if it's just shooting a roll of film every so often or having a good sing along to some good music. I'd say I'm an easy person to get along with, I'm always honest and up for a good laugh and to have fun. I love to eat pretty much anything and to cook it too, I'm a foodie and am not afraid to hide it :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm on couchsurfing to explore the world a little more, I want to meet new people, see new things and places and enjoy the journey with others.

Interests

Food, photography, good music

  • culture
  • singing
  • design
  • graphic design
  • photography
  • education
  • dining
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • traveling
  • painting
  • drawing
  • music
  • hunting
  • teaching
  • languages
  • au-pair
  • beaches
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Music; I have an eclectic music taste, Christian Rock, Pop, Soundscapes and Flamenco are some of my favorites.

Movies; I like to watch big time films but I'm also a fan of alternative films, smalltime productions with less well known actors. I love photographic filming styles of short films and can always get stuck into a good classic. My favorite films are Fly Away home, Lovely Bones, The Railway Children and Jumanji.

Books; I'm not a bookworm because I explore the world with my eyes, visually, photography, film, beautiful views but I love a bit of poetry too.

Teach, Learn, Share

It really makes me happy teaching English and Learning new languages and cultures, I love to share what I know and what I love with others. I am a keen cook although not always successful, I love sharing my food and recipes from my culture.

I'm also always up to do something creative whether it's drawing, painting, sewing, sculpting, shooting some film.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I love to explore new places and learn about their cultures, meeting new people and sharing my own culture too. I'm always happy to cook if you'll let me loose in the kitchen.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bulgaria, France, Greece, Spain, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Katy’s full profile. It’s free!